Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Head Bolts

  1. #1
    SEADOO4ME's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    32

    Question Head Bolts

    Back in June, my 05 RXT with 37 hrs drop a valve and eneded up detroying the head and cracking the block. I acquired an 04 motor and decided to upgrade the valves and flywheel bolts. Today I was installing the head with new bolts. I torque the bolts to 25, 50 and 75 Ft lbs. When I attempted to torque to 100FT lbs. the bolts at position 1 and 6 in the sequence turned but didn't feel like they're tightening. I stopped what I was doing and here I am. What should I do? I was really hoping to get the motor in this weekend. Grrrrrrr!! This is fustrating.


  2. #2
    Dave Sharp dav_dman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    louisville Ky/so. IN
    Posts
    1,453
    +1
    1
    get em out and put arp studs in. last torque 85. cut the tops off a little to clear the cover..ask these guys who have arp and they can tell you.

  3. #3
    Kiwi spanner handler
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Christchurch NewZealand
    Posts
    579
    +1
    13
    that could be the bolts stretching and where did you get the tourque specs like that isnt it like 27nm + 120 degrees +90 degrees?

  4. #4
    Dave Sharp dav_dman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    louisville Ky/so. IN
    Posts
    1,453
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonze View Post
    that could be the bolts stretching and where did you get the tourque specs like that isnt it like 27nm + 120 degrees +90 degrees?
    if you're speaking to me I got them from arp.. use the arp lube grease first.
    yes service manual is 40 nm (30ft-lbs) +120deg second round then 90deg last. My arp instructions for my car were 85 ft-lbs final.. which i prefer to that degree stuff.
    Last edited by dav_dman; 08-23-2008 at 07:16 PM.

  5. #5
    Kiwi spanner handler
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Christchurch NewZealand
    Posts
    579
    +1
    13
    but you are using genuine stretch bolts? If you are the arp specs are all wrong.

  6. #6
    SEADOO4ME's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    32
    It appears the problem was installer error. Somewhere I crossed the torque specs of ARP bolts with factory bolts. I guess I'll need new bolts since I'm sure I stretched these. Will I need a new head gasket too? What do you guys think??

  7. #7
    Kiwi spanner handler
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Christchurch NewZealand
    Posts
    579
    +1
    13
    if you havnt run it the gasket should be fine
    stretch bolts must be done by degrees and often give a soft feel when tightening I dont like it either but have done quite a few motors and follow the instructions and never had a problem.

  8. #8
    Dave Sharp dav_dman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    louisville Ky/so. IN
    Posts
    1,453
    +1
    1
    i would go with studs instead of bolts if you go with arp.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 10 TIPS ON TIGHTENING HEAD BOLTS!!!
    By RX951 in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 06:43 PM
  2. Head bolt length after head is shaved???
    By jgustman in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 06-11-2008, 10:03 AM
  3. head bolt torque specs
    By DaGoblinEatR in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-21-2006, 11:43 PM
  4. Head Bolts
    By JKR1300 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-20-2006, 03:34 PM
  5. stock head bolts
    By titi0314 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-29-2006, 03:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •