Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 03 variage I

03 variage I

first let me start by saying this site is awsome, and i hope this is posted in the right place. I am very new to skis, this is my first. I have read/searched for a couple of days and can't seem to find out what is wrong with my ski, but i did fix a few little thing after reading, ie..reset the lock code back to factory default 1234, thanks for that post. now back to my problem at hand. the ski: 2003 virage I roughly 340 hrs, not sure of previous owners maint. but don't think it was his top priority, said that he hadn't ridden much in the last couple of years and it has been sitting, said he only had it out 1 time last year. i removed all the old fuel, and oil replaced with fresh, had a friend who works on other type of skis clean fuel injectors and make sure there was no blockages in the exhaust system, water flowing good through intake and out hose, check thermostat and it will open in hot water and close when in cool. the ski will start right up, idel fine will run great for about 15 min, then rpm limiter will kick in (limit at about 3500) and the check engine light will come on, after sitting for about 3or4 min the ski will run fine for about another 5-10 min, then repeat the whole process, i bypassed the heat sensor coming from the exhaust manifold with no change, any suggestion on what to do will be greatly appreciated. the closest mech. to work on this is about an hour away, so i would like to try and give it a go before having to take it to them. thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk!

I am sure you have already, but just to be sure, you can download the 2003 Service Manual from here.

When the Check Engine lamp comes on, is there any other warning info or message?
    'Check Engine' or 'Overheat'?