Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

To rebuild or not to rebuild.... 97 1050 SL

Ok, so I have lurked on here for some time, and have gained a ton of info, so first of thanks to everyone here, this is a great community.

I am new to the world of PWC's and purchased an older pair of Polaris skis a couple months back. Got a smokin deal (bought used double trailer and got two skis free) as both needed some minor work, pretty much all of which I have since accomplished. But now I think I managed to break some bad stuff.

The ski in question is a 97 1050 SL with approx 75 hrs on it. I say approximately because the MFD was replaced shortly before I bought it, and I was told that it had nearly identical hours as the other ski (96 780SLT) before MFD replacement. I believe the seller as he had nothing to lose by telling me this.

Initially the 1050 would not start easily, and this was remedied by carb cleaning and rebuilt x 3 and new plugs. She then ran fine, but with some misses as low speed. Mag cylinder and piston had previously been replaced due to "burning a hole in it" per previous owner, and at time of replacement several years ago, center cylinder had some scoring noted on inspection. Compression at time of purchase was 118, 94, 117 (Mag/Mid/PTO) by my compression guage.

It ran fine but not perfect, and my kids had a good time tearing up the lake with it.