Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Well It Happened

I get home from a long day of working on cars and trucks all day. when I decided that a nice cruise in the boat would cool me off. So the wife and I uncover the boat and go out on a nice cruise around the lake. Then it happens. We were heading back home decided to do a couple fun turns and it went limp. Dam Dam Dam I start yell. The wife is like What the hell is the problem? So we are like 25 feet from our dock so I coast it in and park it. get my tools and start removing the SC. Well I get it out and sure enough the washers are no more. Now I am pissed I have only owned this boat for less that two weeks. I have the SC out and am ready to start ordering. So I need the new washers from 4-tecperformance.com and new needle bearings for the gear. I am thinking the shims would be a good idea too? I am really new to this SC rebuild,but feel confident in rebuilding it myself.
    Is there anything that I might need or need to know that you guys with the great wisdom of the 4-tech scic boats have?

Is it a simple rebuild the SC and slap it back in, What actually drives the SC? does the SC dive gear and stump go into the crankcase of this engine.
    What do I do about the old washers? Did they literally just wear to nothing or are they floating around and going to cause me more problems?

HELP!!!!!!!

+1
    I hate to say it but use the search key... you are now the proud owner of an engine that has cermaic washer scrapnel in your engine.

ok so I read about this emissions warranty. What is it. and does it cover a 2005 sportster? Will I get lucky or am I royaly screwed? How much is this going to cost? Can I go back to the dealer I bout it from considering it is less than 2 weeks old? Is there any legal issues that are in my favor?

I hate to say it but I see you didn't really heed all the advice a couple of weeks ago. Particularly:
    Quote Originally Posted by VX1