Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Want to know about "stand-ups"

I've very little riding experience with jet ski's. I bought my first two this year. A 96 ZXI1100 and a Polaris SL750. They're fun as hell, well, the ZXI is anyway. But those small stand ups look awesome. I've seen em with 550 and 650 engines and I'm sure they're available even bigger. But are they as fun as they look sitting on a trailer? I've never seen one in action. I want to buy one, but don't want to find out AFTER shelling out the cash that they're just scooters compared to crotch rockets.

+1
    depending upon your size, they can be very fast or very slow. I am 230# and a 550 is just enough to get me around. Goes about 35MPH and is a lot more fun to play with.

The stand up is a much different ride than a sit down and it is not relaxing. It is a workout. But a lot more fun. The different hulls ride differently, so best idea is to find some folks to let you ride.

for example, the JS550 series hulls are longer than the 550SX or 650SX hulls and ride smother for a lighter rider.

+1
    where are you located

In very-cold-waters Maine.

I'm 150 and have been all my 40+ years so weight isnt a factor. I like hard-core racing type toys. While speed usually IS a factor in my choices, I find that performance and quick steering seems more important on my jet ski. I'm usually not pinning the throttle all that often. I've seen stand-ups on TV and like how they look. They seem to leap off the waves a lot easier, and higher, than the standard ski.

+1
    They are a blast, and you can get a good condition 550 for about $500, play with it, clean it up and sell it for the same next spring.

Quote Originally Posted by kaneatious View Post