Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Another Yamaha GP1200R Engine Failure! Help!

This is a stock 2001 Yamaha GP1200R with 150 hours on it. The only mod is a D plate and sensor by-pass chip.

The center piston has a hole in it. Top speed now is about 20mph.

A little History…..Last summer the engine died. I was told by the repair shop that a piece of a reed valve broke off and scored the center cylinder and piston. After $1900 in repairs last year, and only 3 hours on the water this year, the engine has died again. This time the repair shop said there is a hole in the center piston. They are willing to fix it again for another $2000 or more with still no warranty on their work. I don’t have any confidence that they will actually address and resolve what is causing the problem and have decided to take it home and fix it myself. I have never done anything like this before, but am hoping that with some help from the people on this forum, I can rebuild the engine.

My first objective while rebuilding this engine is to determine what could be causing this engine to fail twice like this.

I believe I will have to replace the piston and fix the cylinder at a minimum.

I will check the oil lines as I take it apart to see if that caused the problem. Regardless, I intend to go the premix route with an oil block off kit as part of the rebuild.

I also intend to rebuild the 3 carbs. I will be looking closely at the center carb to see if that may have caused the problem. (Although, I am not really sure of what to look for, other then dirt and muck in there).

I will check and replace the reed valves as necessary.

I will also install Wave eater clips and couplings.

Well, this post is getting long. I wanted to introduce myself (Dennis) and begin to provide some information to you all, in hopes that you will be able to help guide me through resolving what is causing the problem, as well as help me do the rebuild.