Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1

Arrow Virage TXi has strong vibration just above idle

I am just getting started on diagnosing this problem, and I am hoping it does not lead me into the engine.

Machine seems to run well enough overall. Last time I had it out before the trouble started, I was seeing 6900RPM and 60+mph. Quite happy with the way it was running.

Then the rubber bonded coupler failed while I was running at full speed on smooth water. Engine revved, but speed dropped away. Ficht EMM is supposed to limit to 7200RPM, so I don't think I over-revved it.

I replaced the drive shaft coupler with a used one from a 2000 Genesis. A few nicks here and there, but overall it looks fine.

Next time we took it out, I was not riding it at first. Rider comes back in ten minutes with report of harsh vibration at low speeds. I ride it for a few minutes, and it does vibrate more that it should. More than it did before the coupler failed. Seemed to still have full power, but I didn't thrash it. Trailered both machines, and took them home.

Strapped to the trailer in the water today, I watched the through-hull bearing vibrate strongly just off idle. At least 5mm of excursion each way from center!

Brought it home, pulled the jet pump and drive shaft (which all looks good, and the splines are fine).

Compression is fairly even across all cylinders. PTO is down maybe 4 percent from the other two.

When I grab the coupler with the engine off, it turns smoothly, with no discernible motion up/down or left/right, and no funny sounds.

Video clip is of the unloaded engine. It is very hard to hold the engine to the RPM range where the vibration is strongest, without any load.

You can see the strong vibration as the RPM rises and falls (I am barely squeezing the throttle). The coupler shakes, as does the entire rear portion of engine, and the large cooling hose. It also shakes the hull enough that the cowling and hood make noise.