Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    is thinking. grantuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    745
    +1
    19

    Aftermarket tach.....

    I will be doing away with the gauge console for next season but would still like to be able to my RPMs, has anyone installed an aftermarket tach and if so which one?

    Regards,

    Grant


  2. #2
    David 1 FAST VE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southaven, MS
    Posts
    1,958
    +1
    1
    Get an MSD tach adapter that gets the signal from around one of the coil wires.
    I can find the number tonight.
    I used it and it works great then you can use any tach you want.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lexington, Ky
    Posts
    1,656
    good to know. Anyone know how to fake the speeedo out? I want to use that display for something else, since my RR ECU doesn't work it, and I have a GPS anyway..

  4. #4
    is thinking. grantuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    745
    +1
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by 1 FAST VE View Post
    Get an MSD tach adapter that gets the signal from around one of the coil wires.
    I can find the number tonight.
    I used it and it works great then you can use any tach you want.

    Any info on how this works? Cant find much on it from the www.msdpowersports.com website?

  5. #5
    Ride Hard! aha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Covina, Ca
    Posts
    2,009
    +1
    11
    After looking through the MSD Website for the last 30 minutes I think I found the adapter that Fast was talking about.

    http://www.msdpowersports.com/shift_lights.html At the very bottom part # 8918.

    I so wish I knew about this a long time ago!

    I wonder if the tach signal that this thing outputs can be imputed into an LM2... now that would be sweet! Boost+AFR+RPM readings all graphed out together!

  6. #6
    David 1 FAST VE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southaven, MS
    Posts
    1,958
    +1
    1
    #8918 is the part number, I used it with my Autronics because the Tach wire was cut off in the harness.

    I ran a Race Pak EGT and it worked perfect.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Where Did You Mount Yout Aftermarket Tach/Hour Meter?
    By TLH101 in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-03-2016, 11:07 AM
  2. Aftermarket Tach recommendations?
    By SJ-(KY) in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-20-2015, 03:13 PM
  3. 3rd aftermarket tach. Now why is this still happening?
    By ZeroClient in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-19-2013, 11:44 AM
  4. Aftermarket Tach help
    By JonnyB in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-08-2009, 01:44 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-29-2007, 02:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •