Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    mjh3ides's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Florida
    Posts
    6,805
    +1
    2,024

    Need help finding direct tach output lead on SHO

    I would like to install a digital tach on my SHO, but the inductive type Tiny Tach and PET won't work since the coils are on top of the valve cover and there are no plug wires. I'm assuming the stock tach runs from this wire, but I'm not sure which one it is. Has anyone got access to a wiring diagram that could steer me in the right direction?

    Here are the instructions from the tach I'm looking at:
    Nordskog Performance Products
    M9004 Mini Tachometer Wiring Instructions
    This tachometer requires a signal from your ignition system to operate. This can either be from the negative terminal on your coil or a direct tach output lead from the distributor or electronic control module. In order to isolate the signal wire from electrical noise interference, we recommend that you use great care to insure that all sensing wires are run as far away from any voltage or signal carrying wires as possible, especially spark plug wires. Before beginning the installation, carefully read through all of the following wiring instructions.
    Connect the
    green wire to your ignition signal wire on the negative terminal on your coil or a direct tach output lead on your distributor or electronic control module. Note: If you are using an aftermarket capacitive discharge ignition system such as an MSD, you must use the designated "tach output" connection on the MSD (or other brand) electronic box. You must not make any connections directly to the coil with this type of system. The tachometer is calibrated for use with 8 cylinder engines. If you are using it with a 4 or 6 cylinder engine, you must "recalibrate" the tach for your specific application by cutting the correct "loop" of wire coming from the back of the gauge;
    For 4 cylinder operation, cut the
    blue wire loop
    For 6 cylinder operation, cut the
    orange wire loop
    Connect the
    black wire to a good engine ground (chassis or wire wall grounds can often be inadequate).

    Connect the
    red wire to a 12 volt source which is adequately fused and turns on and off with the ignition switch.


  2. #2
    mjh3ides's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Florida
    Posts
    6,805
    +1
    2,024
    Got my answer. Big thanks to Bruce. I think it's awesome to have guys like him on the leading edge of the industry take part in our forum. I just ordered my tach and I'll post some pics after I finish the install.

  3. #3
    It's not the destination, it's the journey!! Rip'nTear SHO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Posts
    4,573
    Guess that Modders Anonymous meeting didnt work huh?

  4. #4
    100 MILES OF HEAVEN AND I AM SMACK IN THE MIDDLE KEYZBUM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    JUST NORTH OF CUBA-- FL,KEYS
    Posts
    2,556
    +1
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by Rip'nTear SHO View Post
    Guess that Modders Anonymous meeting didnt work huh?
    you mean AA
    Aftermarket Anonymous
    mattman

  5. #5
    mjh3ides's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Florida
    Posts
    6,805
    +1
    2,024
    Quote Originally Posted by Rip'nTear SHO View Post
    Guess that Modders Anonymous meeting didnt work huh?
    Damn 12 step programs. They keep telling me I'm powerless...Exactly, I need more power.

  6. #6
    It's not the destination, it's the journey!! Rip'nTear SHO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Posts
    4,573

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by mjh3ides View Post
    Damn 12 step programs. They keep telling me I'm powerless...Exactly, I need more power.
    lmao....

    aftermarket anonymous...thats great too...

  7. #7
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    So, where are you getting the signal from?

  8. #8
    mjh3ides's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Florida
    Posts
    6,805
    +1
    2,024
    It's in the front section of the ski. I haven't looked for it yet, but is a two lead wire, black and green/blue that has a white plug on the end of it. Yamaha even supplied the plug, how convenient.

  9. #9
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    Thanks, filing away...

  10. #10
    mjh3ides's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Florida
    Posts
    6,805
    +1
    2,024
    Got the tach gauge installed and it looks cool but doesn't work properly. The problem is the way Yamaha set up the signal. I get multiple signals per cycle causing the tach to read 3x the actual rpm(@2000 it reads 6000). Bruce told me he uses a Kowa Tools tach that can be calibrated for a 2 cycle engine to scale down the signal. I'll post the info on the Kowa after I have the model#.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-24-2016, 12:12 PM
  2. need HELP help finding air intake temp sensor on my fx-ho.
    By islandboy in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2010, 02:05 PM
  3. Need help finding a Yamaha memebers ski on this forum
    By psi_2_high in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-16-2009, 08:51 PM
  4. Need help finding aYamaha memebers ski on this forum
    By psi_2_high in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-16-2009, 02:57 PM
  5. Need help, No rpm's, not charging on mfd
    By gvnitup in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-22-2007, 12:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •