Help me out if you can...

So i am all into the whole do it yourself thing when it comes to motors (maybe because i am a mechanic). I was curious how everyone is changing the oil. I am aware of suction through the dipstick and doing it that way but 150.00 for the complete kit is a little outrageous... I am woundering if a can just make one with a 12V pump and 5gal bucket, but i am not sure where to get one at, any help would be greattt.

Another is in the nose of my ski. Its got "splintered" fiberglass around the nose from a harsh kit i guess into a peir or what not... nothing bad but i would like to try to fix it. Any sugestions on where or how to do this process?

Bryan

+1
    i use this oil extractor ..only 40 bucks.

http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/w..._390306_390306

i changed the oil at an initial 10hrs, no filter change. now i am up to 50hrs and i changed the oil and filter. after extracting the oil, stuff rags under the front of the motor and pull the filter off..thats it.

i guess a 12v pump would work with a 5 gal bucket, u just gotta get the right size hose to put in the dipstick. its pretty fuggin small though..

as to the repair on the hull, if its the underside of the boat, use marine tex in black i myself and sixtydashone have repair our bottoms with this stuff. sands easily, tough as steel and very workable and matches the color perfect.....

Quote Originally Posted by YamahaRacer447 View Post
    150.00 for the complete kit
    I don't know what that is but the $50 one from either Harbor Freight or West Marine does an excellent job - easy, fast and economic.

Quote Originally Posted by meangreenman View Post
    I don't know what that is but the $50 one from either Harbor Freight or West Marine does an excellent job - easy, fast and economic.

That is an excellent pump for the price and is very dependable if cared for properly. We use these on service calls and as fsr as weight, function, etc., we luv em!