Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Exclamation Seadoo RXP issues

Hey I just recently got an 04 RXP and have had a few problems with it on the weekend, and being a newbie i have no idea what could possibly be wrong with it..

The ski is very jumpy in its rev's, kind of like a jolty feeling and at times i would lose alot of power, then it would kick in all of a sudden by itself and go hard, but still only reaching 55 mph and about 6k rpm..

but if i just take it easy the engine sounds like im constantly changing the throttle, which im not.. i was holding it steady.

but after we dropped the revs down and went to pick back up again, there was no power, didnt matter how hard i would push the throttle the engine wouldnt kick in again.. i could get to 4k revs and that was about it..

and from a stand still take off the engine would do alot of work, and we wouldnt really get anywhere... when it should be flying out of the water..

at first we thought it might be a blockage in the fuel... but reading up more seems there might be a problem with my S/C? Although i could hear it whining when we were maxing out at 6k rpm...

dosnt look good from what im seeing
    and to make matter worse.. i just fkn bought it =/

its got about stage 1.5 done on it..
    thinking about taking it to dealer... guna cost me an arm and a leg?

+1
    Don't take it to the dealer. We will get you through it. The RXP is the platform that members have the most experience. I, for one, am not an RXP owner. Others will post, give them a little while.

Look in the intake grate under the ski and look at the impeller blades, make sure they are sharp and not bent up, like they have sucked in some rocks. Also look at the wear ring that wraps the impeller to make sure there are no gouges or sever wear from the impeller spinning. All these cause cavitation. Use the "search" function and read.