Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

'04 RXP No Power!

2004 RXP w/40 hrs. Everything that has happened- Was 100% stock. Put on new Riva intake grate. Pulled out origional plugs. Store did not have correct replacements. Put in origional plugs that looked good still. Filled up ski w/93 octane. (Also filled up '01 RX from same pump w/ no problems from this ski). Took ski out to test new intake grate. Ski running terrible from the start, rough idle, intermittent surges, did I mention extremely rough running. poured in bottle of Lucas fuel treatment. No change. Pulled ski out of water and went to parts store and purchased and installed new plugs. Put ski back in water and it now ran smooth but will not get over 6050 rpm's and there is NO whin from supercharger at all. Ski feels slugish and tops out at 58mph indicated. (topped out at 70 indicated before).
    I am guessing that it has something to do with the SC clutch or washers, but I am no expert on these at all. That is why I ask for advice here. Sorry for the long story but I wanted to relay all of the facts to get an accutate diag.
    Thanks in advance.

take of the hose from the supercharger and try to spin the blades of the sc wheel. if it spins, bye bye supercharger. it can have a little play, but not much. did you have metal washers in it or did you leave in the ceramics?

http://greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=19887

+1
    When are they going to learn!

I guess we will learn if we would read all of the great information that everyone has put in here. After reading the explicitive on SC's and what they do when they fail, it sounds exactly like what has happened to mine. So, for everyone that thinks it won't happen to them because I take care of my ski, you are wrong. I take very good care of mine and it happened with only 40hrs on it. I will be taking it off tomorrow and sending it to Jerry for a rebuild.
    Thanks again.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by 55Cameo View Post