Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Head Porting (JERRY)

I'm having both my head milled 30thou and ported. I'm going to run my stock IC and stick with mt stock ECU. Will I have to run the bigger Injectors and piggy back fuel controler. I also going to run stock cam as the RR cam adds only to the top end. I'm looking for just good bottom mid power. Milling head 30 will add some top any way becouse you are retarding the cam timing some. Also some good bottom with the higher compression.

+1
    I'd ask this question to Mark Underwood if i were you.

I personally see no benefit whatsoever in running the stock IC with a ported head. It's junk! To get the full benefit from a ported head you will need the ECU and external intercooler. Just my opinion though.

+1
    Tube, I don't mean to be critical, I'm just learning. But why would you want to to the cam and head porting if you aren't increasing the fuel and air flow to the cylinders? My very basic understanding is that the cam and porting work makes for a better intake stroke, combustion (power stroke) and exhaust stroke and a resulting increase in power. With a stock ECU, you aren't getting the necessary amount of fuel in there. Again, I may be wrong, but I'm trying to learn 4 stroke tech 101.

Central Arkansas or Missouri on lake of the Ozarks, Table Rock, Bull Shoals
    Quote Originally Posted by Franko
    Tube, I don't mean to be critical, I'm just learning. But why would you want to to the cam and head porting if you aren't increasing the fuel and air flow to the cylinders? My very basic understanding is that the cam and porting work makes for a better intake stroke, combustion (power stroke) and exhaust stroke and a resulting increase in power. With a stock ECU, you aren't getting the necessary amount of fuel in there. Again, I may be wrong, but I'm trying to learn 4 stroke tech 101.