Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Two questions about SL750

Ok so I am new to the Polaris ski and had a couple qs. I rebuilt the top end on my 750 but when I start it the third cylinder is getting hot and melted the spark plug. The other two cylinders are fine and the engine is run on premix.

Also my stop/lanyard switch doesn't work but I believe that its just something in the electrical box. So does anyone know where I can get a diagram for it?

Howdy! Why the rebuild in the first place?
    I would pull that head and look at that piston! plugs are metal and pistons are aluminum .. so to melt a plug and not mess up a piston is rare!
    Did u do the carbs while you were at it? sounds like you ran lean!
    check the tech section for the pdf manual .. it has diagrams in it Z

I was doing some searching and found a thread about a mod that can be down to the stock fuel system.
    Attached Thumbnails

My ski has this mod done to it. I didn't know that was different until I found this page.

That mod is when u upgrade to a 3 port fuel pump ' it feeds each carb separately instead of the in line last carb gets less stock approach

I got this ski from my friend who said the O/I went out and blew the #1 cylinder. So I rebuilt the top end and put an I/O block off plate and premixed the gas. I cleaned out the fuel pump and it seems to be working fine for the single outlet. I haven't pulled the carbs to clean them so I hope thats my problem.

Polaris makes these skis almost impossible to work on them. Pulling the carbs looks like a nightmare to me! I don't think I ruined the third piston because I caught it in time. After the plug melted I put a little oil in the third cylinder for lube and put a new plug in and it ran great until the oil burnt away.

Okay so someone took the line out from the pump and tee'd it into three seperate lines going into the fuel rail for the carbs. This is prolly worse than leaving it stock!