Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    605

    Ecu,50lb,question

    JUST WONDERING CAN RIVA ECU AND 50LB INJECTORS BE ADDED TO MY MACHINE,WITHOUT ANY INTERNAL UPGRADES,IE,VALVES,ECT,IM MODDED,WITH,C4,15/20,AIRFILTER,XS COOLER,GRATE ECT,IM A BIT WORRIED ABOUT HAVING TO OPEN UP THE ENGINE,AND RELIABILTY


  2. #2
    Site Admin Green Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    36,398
    +1
    2,524
    You will have to install the Riva valve train upgrade. It's actually a very simple process and the head does not have to be removed. Riva makes a valve train upgrade tool

  3. #3
    Moderator Snoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    South Chicagoland
    Posts
    14,688
    +1
    846
    NO ,You have to get the Riva Valve train upgrade or you can and will float a valve..

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    605
    Quote Originally Posted by snoman View Post
    no ,you have to get the riva valve train upgrade or you can and will float a valve..
    thanks,i might have to pay for that to be done im not sure how i would get on with that,

  5. #5
    rxpxseadog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    long way from home
    Posts
    490
    +1
    54

    You Can Do IT!!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by MARK_LEGG View Post
    thanks,i might have to pay for that to be done im not sure how i would get on with that,

    Mark installing the Riva Valvetrain upgrade is so easy my GF did herself and she has never tooled anything before she did this upgrade.

    Look at the photo -- super easy upgrade -- you just need to pick-up a torque wrench and a small air compressor (look at the cost of the tools as a freebie if you compare the costs of having someone do the upgrade for you)

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    605
    Quote Originally Posted by rxpxseadog View Post
    Mark installing the Riva Valvetrain upgrade is so easy my GF did herself and she has never tooled anything before she did this upgrade.

    Look at the photo -- super easy upgrade -- you just need to pick-up a torque wrench and a small air compressor (look at the cost of the tools as a freebie if you compare the costs of having someone do the upgrade for you)
    IM TEMPTED,DONT SPOSE YOU COULD LEND ME YOUR GF ONLY JOKING IF ITS THAT EASY I MIGHT TRY IT THANKS

  7. #7
    HOSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Kenner, LA
    Posts
    4,759
    +1
    29
    The valve train upgrade is very easy.

  8. #8
    Vern's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Grand Haven, MI
    Posts
    3,594
    +1
    128
    Quote Originally Posted by HOSS View Post
    The valve train upgrade is very easy.
    It really is ... just get the Riva tool, power up your compressor, and follow the directions. It is also helpful to have a little magnet for the valve keepers, they are very small and you don't want them falling into the head. Also before you do each valve, give the top of the valve/retainer a few light whacks (I used a socket over the retainer and a light hammer) to loosen the retainer a little. IF you pressurize a cylinder and start to compress the spring, and the valve stem does not stay up, stop, and smack the retainer a couple times, they occasionally stick a little and need a little persuasion.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    605
    Quote Originally Posted by Vern View Post
    It really is ... just get the Riva tool, power up your compressor, and follow the directions. It is also helpful to have a little magnet for the valve keepers, they are very small and you don't want them falling into the head. Also before you do each valve, give the top of the valve/retainer a few light whacks (I used a socket over the retainer and a light hammer) to loosen the retainer a little. IF you pressurize a cylinder and start to compress the spring, and the valve stem does not stay up, stop, and smack the retainer a couple times, they occasionally stick a little and need a little persuasion.
    mmm,not sure,by the way your verdict on my exhaust code was spot on,every time i did spinnies,i got the code,wot,and doughnuts were fine,

  10. #10
    Vern's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Grand Haven, MI
    Posts
    3,594
    +1
    128
    Quote Originally Posted by MARK_LEGG View Post
    mmm,not sure,by the way your verdict on my exhaust code was spot on,every time i did spinnies,i got the code,wot,and doughnuts were fine,
    Thanks, good to hear nothing was really wrong!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. FS - Parts riva 8600 ecu& 50lb injecters 4 sale
    By ALOHR in forum Sea Doo Classifieds
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-07-2012, 01:55 PM
  2. 2006 rxp riva ecu upgrade question
    By sikisdr69 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-29-2012, 04:12 AM
  3. FS 2006 Riva ECU, 50lb injecters and Fizzle IC with bleed mod.
    By Water4fire in forum Sea Doo Classifieds
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-20-2011, 07:24 AM
  4. Riva ECU fuel question
    By JimC in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-10-2008, 03:33 PM
  5. RR ECU Install questions
    By Vern in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-09-2005, 09:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •