Thread: solo launching

Question solo launching

Hey guys im new to the jetski scene, (as an owner) and new to the forums.
    I didn't want to start a new thread but the search didn't turn up anything.
    Now this might be a stupid question but i'll ask anyway
    Im off work during the week alot as i do shift work, and im losing alot of days to take out the jetski because no one else is off work that i know.
    The only way that i can think of to launch the ski buy myself is to tie it to the jetti while i go park. is there anything you can buy to put on the side of your ski to stop it banging around?

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome.

There are these solo launching threads;
    Launch a boat by myself

One Person PWC Launch

Here are 'things not to' do threads;
    Dealt with my first in-"duh"-vidual at a boat launch

Some Launch Ramp Fun From Last Summer

You can buy fenders/bumpers that fit (sort of) your PWC and protect from dock rash, but the best method is to either anchor it just far enough from shore to not bottom out while you are parking the trailer, or creative use of ropes to hold the hull away from the dock structure.

If there are other people around, often you can ask them to help, especially if you have an opportunity to help them first.

Do protect yourself from theft, by keeping the PWC security 'key' with you while you park or fetch the trailer.

If there is a useful water current, you can use a single rope to allow the hull to trail downstream away from the dock.

===================
    On a safety note, think about riding alone. If something happens to the machine, or to you, who is going to know, and come help you?

Best safety method is the buddy system. If you get knocked off the ski, you might not be able to get back on by yourself, if you are injured.

Next up is a portable VHF radio, with DSC+GPS (such as the Standard Horizon HX850S).