Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    African-American
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    2,226
    +1
    88

    GP1300R where can i get switchable power for extra eletronics

    Im busy wiring my electrical accesories (tach, bildge and depth guage) to my 2003 gp1300r...

    Could i use the power that comes off the bildge pump to start my relay, which will then power my accesories ?

    Basically i need them to run when my skis motor is running..
    from what i understand is the electrical bildge pump runs continuously when the motor is powered on, and for 20sec after power off (until the pv's cycle) , which is ideal for what i want to do..


    or is there a better method ?


  2. #2
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,799
    +1
    449
    Quote Originally Posted by spaceman View Post
    Im busy wiring my electrical accesories (tach, bildge and depth guage) to my 2003 gp1300r...

    Could i use the power that comes off the bildge pump to start my relay, which will then power my accesories ?

    Basically i need them to run when my skis motor is running..
    from what i understand is the electrical bildge pump runs continuously when the motor is powered on, and for 20sec after power off (until the pv's cycle) , which is ideal for what i want to do..


    or is there a better method ?
    sounds feasable, but put a test light on the bilge power wire to make sure it stays on... I thought it cycled on and off

    another wire would be the power to the cluster to activate your relay

  3. #3
    African-American
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    2,226
    +1
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by WFO View Post
    another wire would be the power to the cluster to activate your relay
    will check it...

    any idea which is the power wire to the cluster... and im assuming ill have to stick a diode on it.. to prevent it killing my cluster

  4. #4
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,799
    +1
    449
    Quote Originally Posted by spaceman View Post
    will check it...

    any idea which is the power wire to the cluster... and im assuming ill have to stick a diode on it.. to prevent it killing my cluster
    no diode required IMO if you are just exciting a relay

    just use a test light to see which one gets power when fired up

  5. #5
    African-American
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    2,226
    +1
    88
    thank you

  6. #6
    vomitspot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    mobile alabama
    Posts
    722
    also remember the charging system isnt made to have lots of extra draw

    i see people with bikes that add tons of lights, cd player, ect have charging problems

  7. #7
    sleeplessnMS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Waveland,MS
    Posts
    1,943
    Take your bucket out look in the harness for a grey plug with a black wire,red with yellow stripe wire and white with black stripe wire and the other end of the plug will have just a solid red wire,black wire, and white wire. The solid red is your activation while running -12volts.... Double check with a test light though but should be it.

  8. #8
    mrbtd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lindenhurst, Illinois, United States
    Posts
    4,309
    +1
    2
    If you have more than one device to power on consider a terminal strip like this. One side is a ground connected to the block and the other is power.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC00682.JPG 
Views:	50 
Size:	2.95 MB 
ID:	107583   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC00683.JPG 
Views:	36 
Size:	2.96 MB 
ID:	107584  

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    87

    DIODE

    Hi spaceman

    It is best to put a diode over the operating coil of a relay you can use a 1N4004 or 1N4007 diode the diode will prevent any feedback from the coil to the rest of the electronics.

    Markus

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. PLEASE PROS WHERE CAN I GET OHM READINGS FOR 2000XLT and STATOR readings pLEASE!!!
    By mrjetskey in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-20-2013, 09:50 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2012, 07:44 PM
  3. Where can I get A OCMS for a ultra 250X
    By bignig in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-26-2010, 01:54 AM
  4. Where can i get best price for parts?
    By scorp in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-21-2009, 06:15 PM
  5. Who makes and where can I get Waveater clips for an xl800?
    By JOJO567 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-22-2006, 12:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •