Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

WR500F NooB questions

I'm new to PWC's and have recently aquired a 89 WR500F.

Can I squeeze extra power out of it with a 650 carbi?
    It has just been rebuilt with 25 thou OS pistons and also has a solas prop.

I want to get rid of the stock bilge pump and fit an electric. I've been told to set it up without a float switch and to just leave it on whilst the engine is running.

Will the generator handle the extra electrical load of the pump and does anyone have an opinion on where it should go? (Engine bay or either side of rear underseat compartment).

Is there anything I should modify/add for use in the surf?

does the aussie version have a drain? otherwise add one to the rear (early u.s. didnt) ..ok first of all ,if its a rolling surf it will be fine otherwise a wr hull is flat and will pound you big time (no v per say)

the venturi drain works fine ( you can add the pump if you wish ,id add a switch on your throttle and cam it on at higher rpm with the carb lever) .. engine bay as it would sit there at a low point (and you have room ) get a gel cell as it can take the load... charging system should handle the load as thats all the wr has is charging (no gauges)

that said mill the head .030 ,add the 650 carb( jetting, on a 650 with the mill ,may be close ),get yourself the jet dynamics grate to load the pump in the rough..
    your stock f/a is fine to use as it has better roll over surf protection

you could look for a pipe but they are hard to find now.. shim your plate about 1/2 inch down to help drive the nose down...(get the longest you can find...

boar out your nozzel for more bottom end (will kill the top a tad,but if surf is where you ride, youll need that more,0

a tdr waterbox could help.. at least top end..(ebay buy)
    a ss impeller will help to keep the cavitation down... (you will burn the backside of the aluminum,it just happens on a wr)

Sweeet.