Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37
  1. #1
    Prohibido usuario
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Jerry's guest bedroom
    Posts
    3,469
    +1
    2

    Question for Electricians?

    Helping a buddy by replacing 2 prong outlets with 3 prong. The place is old and the wiring has no grounds. Every outlet has hot/neutral wire only. Should I replace the outlets and not have a ground wire or pigtail off the neutral and connect it to the ground?

    I'll post some pictures of the mess called a service panel later.


  2. #2
    I trim mangroves..... inothome's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Florida Keys
    Posts
    1,483
    Is there an actual ground in the panel at least? I can't wait to see the pics. The best thing to do would be to run a ground back to the panel, if possible and if there is a ground to run it to. If you are going to replace the outlets the ground should be hooked up to something, don't give someone else a false sense that there is a ground there if there isn't. Are the wires run in metal conduit? That 'could' provide a path to the ground in the panel, even though that is not an acceptable means by code (here). You could get away with connecting the ground to the neutral ONLY if the neutral is bonded to an actual ground in the panel. If there is no actual ground bonded to the neutral in the panel and you plugged in a grounded piece of equipment you could end up getting shocked. Now of course that is against the code here, but who knows what code you have there. The neutral and ground should normally be at the same potential and theoretically, electrically speaking, the same thing. But what we use as a ground conductor is just used for operation of protective devises (breakers, fuses), not for current carrying. The neutral carries the current.
    Put up some pics!! LOL

  3. #3
    Prohibido usuario
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Jerry's guest bedroom
    Posts
    3,469
    +1
    2
    Code doesn't matter here (see this post http://greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=68231). The service panel has two hots and a neutral/ground bus. The n/g wire is sheathed so I got no idea. It is concrete walls with metal conduit so running a ground wire is out of the question.

  4. #4
    Prohibido usuario
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Jerry's guest bedroom
    Posts
    3,469
    +1
    2
    Here's what I'm working with.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0003.JPG 
Views:	48 
Size:	1.14 MB 
ID:	109237   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0007.JPG 
Views:	32 
Size:	1.14 MB 
ID:	109238   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0005.JPG 
Views:	26 
Size:	1.43 MB 
ID:	109239   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0006.JPG 
Views:	30 
Size:	1.30 MB 
ID:	109240   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0004.JPG 
Views:	29 
Size:	1,019.7 KB 
ID:	109241  

  5. #5
    WATER WOODY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Minden, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    10,664
    +1
    11
    Forum member 'superduty' might be able to help you.

  6. #6
    suck my wake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sugar Grove IL
    Posts
    2,872
    +1
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by NCHeel View Post
    Code doesn't matter here (see this post http://greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=68231). The service panel has two hots and a neutral/ground bus. The n/g wire is sheathed so I got no idea. It is concrete walls with metal conduit so running a ground wire is out of the question.
    IF you have metal conduit it would be easy to pull a ground to the recepticle. If you don't want to worry about that just replace the outlets, they should work fine you just wont have a path to ground.

  7. #7
    My Jet Ski drinks more than yours Glenozzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    SML, VA
    Posts
    725
    +1
    4
    run run away fast.
    top of the box looks like the ground bus,
    that not the main panel I hope?

    you really should should get that box updated.
    I don't see any GFI no bath rooms or kitchen in this house?

  8. #8
    The ski's have taken a "backseat" to the Corvette DarthAWM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Odessa, TX
    Posts
    5,364
    Quote Originally Posted by Glenozzy View Post
    run run away fast.
    top of the box looks like the ground bus,
    that not the main panel I hope?

    you really should should get that box updated.
    I don't see any GFI no bath rooms or kitchen in this house?
    Its in Panama, law is a lot different down there

  9. #9
    My Jet Ski drinks more than yours Glenozzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    SML, VA
    Posts
    725
    +1
    4
    Death by fire is the same everywhere

  10. #10
    L Carlson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
    Posts
    7,118
    +1
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by NCHeel View Post
    Here's what I'm working with.
    Replace the panel you can make some money on those old Federal Pacific Breakers. If you have a metal conduit running from the attic down to the recep box run an extra wire down the conduit back to your un safe old school panel. Place a ground bar in the panel. Land the new lug with your new ground that you have run. From that lug that you installed run a minimum of a #4 copper wire out side to a ground rod. In Florida we need two ground rods for a 200 amp service. Do it the correct way before you kill some one. or before the house burns down? Lee

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Boost questions for Jerry..........
    By SKR8PN in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-18-2005, 08:35 AM
  2. Cold air intake questions for the brain trust........
    By SKR8PN in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-24-2005, 05:21 PM
  3. Question for the resident computer gurus.
    By BertInTexas in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-14-2005, 04:24 AM
  4. Question for Jerry..
    By Therock in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-25-2005, 05:11 PM
  5. Question for the Hulk
    By Therock in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-20-2005, 07:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •