Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

F12x Water damage

hi guys i woke up today at 5 am for a nice spearfishing day , went to the ocean ,catched a couple fish , everything was good till i tried to hop into my ski to come back to realize it was almost filled with water , took all the water out went to the beach , and tried to start it but no luck , i checked the oil level and it is a lot higher , could be water that got there or gas from not burning it??? , any tips , what should i do , take out spark plugs ?? change oil , oil filter , air filter , sparkplugs and pray?? any help with be appreciated , not a good day .......

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    I am not a Honda expert, but I think you need to scan some of the water-in-engine threads in the other forums, then immediately work to dry out your engine.

If you have water inside your engine, it will quickly start to rust the bearings and other engine internals. Especially salt water!

Look in your Service Manual for specifics regarding recovering from water ingestion on your particular Honda engine.

The general process is something along these lines;

Remove the spark plugs. Crank the engine. If water spray shoots out of the spark plug holes, you definitely have water inside.

Crank the engine until there is no more water coming out the spark plug holes.

You probably need to remove pieces of the air intake and turbo charger hoses, to remove any water that is inside there.

Plane on changing the engine oil and filter several times, to be sure all the water in the oil is removed. Oil that has some water mixed in often looks milky or whitish.

The key is to act fast. Do not let water, especially salt water, sit inside you engine. Even a few hours is a long time.