Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 96 Wave Venture

Unhappy 96 Wave Venture

I bought a ski last year, a 1996 Yamaha Wave Venture 700 to be specific. Anyways, it ran a little rough when I first got it, and after about 2 hours of use, it was horrible. I took off the head, and lo and behold, the rear piston had completely lost the compression ring along with about an inch of the ring land (chipped off the top of the piston, 1" by maybe 1/8" piece). Apparently, both pieces had been jettisoned through the exhaust, as neither were in the top or bottom end. Suffice to say, a rebuild was in order.

While I am not an expert with 2-stroke engines, I have a good idea of how engines work in general, and I completed the rebuild with the help of a factory service manual. Upon taking it out to the water for break-in, the ski ran good--not great, but good, much better than when the piston was broken.

After the first session of break-in, I take the ski in to cool down. Upon firing up for the second session, the idle is a little rough. The idle gets worse as the sessions go on. While the ski is broken in, I am not sure of the issue at hand.

I have not been able to verify compression (the cylinders were within spec at rebuild, both pistons, rings, wrist pins & needle bearings, and all gaskets were replaced). The high and low speed settings on the carbs were set to factory defaults, and for the first tank of gas, oil was added (if I remember correctly, I did a 50:1 pre-mix, in addition to the oil injection system).