First ski advice.

Hi, first post.
    I have been bitten by the ski bug and now want to get one. I have been led to believe that Yamaha's are the way to go. There is a 1100 waveventure for sale locally with a damaged middle piston.
    The ski looks like selling for 2-3k aud. It seems in really good condition with a trailer. Is this a ski that would be worth rebuilding without over capitalizing? I am a mechanic and should be able to handle the rebuild myself provided I can be made aware of any things that may not be obvious to someone who is not experienced in Yamaha skis.
    Any help and advice would be much appreciated.
    Regards
    Baz

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by thebaz View Post
    Hi, first post.
    I have been bitten by the ski bug and now want to get one. I have been led to believe that Yamaha's are the way to go. There is a 1100 waveventure for sale locally with a damaged middle piston.
    The ski looks like selling for 2-3k aud. It seems in really good condition with a trailer. Is this a ski that would be worth rebuilding without over capitalizing? I am a mechanic and should be able to handle the rebuild myself provided I can be made aware of any things that may not be obvious to someone who is not experienced in Yamaha skis.
    Any help and advice would be much appreciated.
    Regards
    Baz

Baz,
    That ski is not worth that damaged in the US by far. I've seen well running Ventures go for considerably less. You can rebuild it for a nominal price but you also have to determine why it lost #2 which leads to carbs likely needing rebuilt ...which you want to do it right which means Needles/Seats etc. You would have at least 400 in the build or more depending on the damage. I would pass for 2k

M