Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Will a 1200DI motor fit in a Virage I hull?

My TXI got a hole in it, which led to a massive crack and water could come in..I barely managed to get it to the dock without sinking. So Im in the market for a new hull and found one locally. The only problem is it is a Virage I hull ( I read they normally come with an 800DI motor), and I'm new to the whole scene and was wondering if the motor could be transplanted. I have it at my highschool marine repair shop and the fiberglass teacher said that the crack and hole are at a stress point and a patch would never hold. So anyone know if We could make it fit?
    Last edited by viragetxi2002; 02-08-2009 at 05:08 PM. Reason: Fell apart wasn't the correct terminology

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    near Toronto, Canada
    Welcome to the Hulk!

If you haven't found them yet, the Polaris Factory Service Manuals are here.

When you have a moment, it would be interesting to see what failed on your Virage TXi hull, and what you think caused it. Post photos if you have them!

Your high school has a marine repair shop? Cool

The main issue between your two hulls would be the engine mounting points. I think they are in different locations between the two cylinder and three cylinder models. You may need to install/move engine mounts in the hull to the correct locations for the three cylinder bed plate. Examine the two hulls carefully, and see what the differences are.

The 2002 Virage hull bottom material is SMC, which I requires epoxy (3M 08101), not fiberglass resin, for repairs and such. The top deck is FRC, which is a form of fiberglass.

Since the replacement Virage i hull is already a fuel injected model, the swap over (other than engine mounting) should be very straight forward.