Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Seagate or WD

  1. #1
    Rampage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Holland, Michigan, United States
    Posts
    2,932

    Seagate or WD

    Im planning on gettin a new HD soon, im outa space and so is my moms/sisters computer. I will be giving them my 250g and getting myself a 750g. What should I go with, Seagate, or Western Digital.


  2. #2
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Crest Hill, IL
    Posts
    9,512
    +1
    215
    Quote Originally Posted by Rampage View Post
    Im planning on gettin a new HD soon, im outa space and so is my moms/sisters computer. I will be giving them my 250g and getting myself a 750g. What should I go with, Seagate, or Western Digital.

    What is the old drive?

    I prefer WD over Seagate, as their interface proram allows you to make a copy of the old drive...

    On a side note, will this uit function as the C: drive? If so, I suggest simply adding a storage drive and pulling everything over to it (pictures, music, video, etc)...leave the C: for the OS and programs only....That way if the C: fails, needs otbe reimages, then all your stuff is safe on a separate drive....

  3. #3
    Rampage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Holland, Michigan, United States
    Posts
    2,932
    well I have an external drive...but my moms HD is only 30g and she is out of space...and I just found out tonight I might be able to give them my WHOLE computer except minor stuff and they might buy me a new one...cuz their computer is just a pile of poo

  4. #4
    Rampage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Holland, Michigan, United States
    Posts
    2,932
    So, here is what I am thinking for my new system...pretty cheap gaming rig:

    Asus M3N78 PRO http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131320

    HIS Radeon HD 4670 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161252

    AMD Quad Core 9600 @2.3ghz http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103244

    4 Gig Ram http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227298

    700w PSU http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341019

    750gb WD HD http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136283

    And a little something extra to keep things cool http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106123

    Just about $600 shipped



  5. #5
    Neighborhood Superman SlowStang305's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    1,324
    +1
    7
    Not a fan of AMD, at all.

  6. #6
    King_Of_Fun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Catawba Island, Ohio
    Posts
    2,703
    I normally do a full load of either XP Pro or Vista Business in the new hard drive, depending on the PC it's going in to. That way I will always have at least one more drive that I can boot up on... Ron

  7. #7
    mrbtd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lindenhurst, Illinois, United States
    Posts
    4,309
    +1
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by King_Of_Fun View Post
    I normally do a full load of either XP Pro or Vista Business in the new hard drive, depending on the PC it's going in to. That way I will always have at least one more drive that I can boot up on... Ron
    That is a great habit to have. This way you are never dead and with drives being so cheap right now it is cheap insurance.

  8. #8
    Rampage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Holland, Michigan, United States
    Posts
    2,932
    AMD is better bang for your buck. My parents told me to make a cheaper one so thats why I chose AMD

  9. #9
    mjh3ides's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Florida
    Posts
    6,799
    +1
    2,013
    Quote Originally Posted by Rampage View Post
    So, here is what I am thinking for my new system...pretty cheap gaming rig:

    Asus M3N78 PRO http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131320

    HIS Radeon HD 4670 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161252

    AMD Quad Core 9600 @2.3ghz http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103244

    4 Gig Ram http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227298

    700w PSU http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341019

    750gb WD HD http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136283

    And a little something extra to keep things cool http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106123

    Just about $600 shipped

    I like WD...I have 12 of them in different systems and have had 1 fail but you can't beat the price. Also, they offer cross-shipping for RMA's. If you're looking at the 750, you can get a 1TB for only $20 more and I think I remember reading that their read times are faster which should be helpful in a gaming rig.

    I'd drop the AMD, go Intel dude. For $85 more you can pick up a Q6600 with a much bigger cache and slightly faster clock speed, but if you don't need to run 101 programs at once why not look at the dual cores. The newer 45nm Penryn Wolfdales are only $165($55 more) which gets you to 3.0GHz on the 1333FSB. That would be a big bump in gaming performance over the AMD, and besides Crysis there aren't many multi-threaded games to make use of a quad core. I have a Penryn Q9550 and can tell you the 45nm's are fast & run very stable overclocked. Mine is OC'd from 2.83 to 3.3 with only a slight bump in voltage and runs cool as a cucumber. MB price is about the same for the LGA775 Asus'.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115037
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115017

    To get back to your original budget...a 700W PSU is way more than you need for that system. I have a brand new 500W Aero Cool ZeroDBA with modular cabling that I was keeping as a spare, but if you want it I will do $30+shipping. I was planning to use it on my server, but because of the unusual case I used it wouldn't fit. It will work in any standard ATX case. That way you can put the extra $ towards a better CPU & you won't have to wait 3 yrs for your rebate.

  10. #10
    Rampage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Holland, Michigan, United States
    Posts
    2,932
    hmm...yea I have things to think about, I only went AMD because its cheaper, I know intel kicks AMD's ass... but is a 3.0 duel core really faster then a 2.3 quad from AMD?

    I will probably take you up on that offer for the PSU, but I am not completely sure if I can buy it yet so I will let you know what happens.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. xp-s lube or wd-40???
    By gdavis in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-23-2011, 12:16 PM
  2. Bow Rider or Open Bow
    By MikeTrin in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-26-2005, 02:28 PM
  3. 05 or 06 RXP ???
    By Wes901 in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-22-2005, 05:54 PM
  4. How did you modify your craft? all at once or 1 at a time?
    By theantiRXP in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-14-2005, 05:44 AM
  5. PPG or Riva Air Intake, can't decide
    By Shibby1485 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-12-2005, 05:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •