Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

New to PWCs, Which do I choose?

Hi I'm new to PWCs but not new to boating in general. I've been around the water my whole life, but just now have the opportunity to buy a ski. I'm looking for something reliable, something stable in the water at low speeds, but also something that I can get out and have fun with. There may be times where I'd like it to pull a wakeboard also.

With that being said, my budget is $1800 or less including a trailer.

So far here is a list of skis I've found in my budget

1994 SeaDoo SPX
    *new battery, includes cover $1600obo

1994 SeadDoo SP
    *runs good $1800

1995 SeaDoo HX
    * seat faded $1695

Do any of these seem worth looking into?

Does anyone in Missouri have a cheap dependable ski for sale?

Thanks,

Aaron

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Are you willing to repair or rebuild a non-running PWC?

Will you be doing your own repairs and maintenance?

The machines you list are all well over ten years old. Even if you buy one in running condition, it will require work to keep it running, and ensure some reliability.

After the purchase, what is your ongoing budget for repairs, parts and running expenses (fuel, 2-stroke oil, safety gear, etc)?

If the trailer is old, it too may need maintenance or repairs. Tires older than six years are a liability, as they get hard and crack. Old tires can fail at any time. Trailer wheel bearings can fail, as can lights, wiring and other trailer hardware. None of these are huge repair tasks, but they should not be ignored.

Out of the three i would go for the 1994 spx. The hx is a very unstable ski and as your new to pwcs it wouldnt be a good ski to start on unless you want a challange. As K447 said these skis are ten years old and will need maintaining well to keep them running and you could have much more problems when buying older skis.