Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Total Newbie Question (Can Anyone Spare A Moment)

I've read for quite some time, and learned a bit from the veterans on these boards, but I am confused. This could in fact be due to the ease of modifying real way modern street cars with ease (Raptor, SCT, etc.)

As far as the SHO / FZR goes. Am I understanding it correctly, that boosting the power levels on the FZR's and SHO's is a challenge? Like I said, please forgive my ignorance, I really am trying to learn. With my 2004 Cobra, it was a matter of changing the upper and lower pulley, and then retuning the car using SCT (which took the car from 390hp to 478hp). Although in the end I switched out to a Whipple and took it up to 680 with new injectors, anyways...

Are we unable to do the same with the SHO / FZR's or are we? Are the ECU codes not available or are they? I would think with an 1,800+ cu engine, on a sub 900 pound body with the same contact patch as a honda civic, this thing would be a beast waiting to open up. Or am I grotesquely misunderstanding this?

Thank you very much for anyone explaining this to me, and I do look forward to learning from your responses.

?????

no secret code to unlock.....more boost more power but more heat hence bigger ic

Quote Originally Posted by petros the plumber View Post
    no secret code to unlock.....more boost more power but more heat hence bigger ic
    So thats really it? We can boost this ski as high as we want, to the point of cavatation and only deal with heat/ic issues? I was under the impression there was boost limiting issues as well?