Thread: riva stage 3

riva stage 3

hey guys, am new to this forum,

I have a 04 rxp with full riva stage 3 kit. Engine had done approx 50 hrs
    and then it dropped 2 valves. Am a mechanic by trade so know a bit.The conclusion was that the collets pulled through the retainers, therfore creating a monumental blow up that made me think that there was too much spring pressure in the riva springs.
    Since then the motor has had a complete rebuild with mild head porting and standard spring with custom made titanium retainers, am getting 13.5 lbs of boost at the manifold @ 8500rpm. Am looking at putting an aftermarket inlet manifold on as i think there is much more power to be had. Is there any out there? Also what sort of speeds should i be looking for this.

+1
    Welcome to the forum. This has to be the first case I hear about of collets pulling thru the titanium Riva retainers. Got any pictures of this?

04's are known to have weak valves. You sure they didn't just break off?

Yeah i do! I'll post them up soon

Banned User
    Quote Originally Posted by nat04rxp View Post
    hey guys, am new to this forum,

I have a 04 rxp with full riva stage 3 kit. Engine had done approx 50 hrs
    and then it dropped 2 valves. Am a mechanic by trade so know a bit.The conclusion was that the collets pulled through the retainers, therfore creating a monumental blow up that made me think that there was too much spring pressure in the riva springs.
    Since then the motor has had a complete rebuild with mild head porting and standard spring with custom made titanium retainers, am getting 13.5 lbs of boost at the manifold @ 8500rpm. Am looking at putting an aftermarket inlet manifold on as i think there is much more power to be had. Is there any out there? Also what sort of speeds should i be looking for this.