Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Hull modification -- 1300r

I don't know if this idea has been explored yet, but I could not really find anything relevant with the search tool.

Part of what makes Leo's Holeshot kit so good is that it flattens the area behind the ski and stops it from grabbing water before it gets onto plane.

Has anyone ever considered cutting off the lip entirely? Essentially, the back of the ski would no longer have the lip or the flat area above the lip. The rub rail could be placed on the hull itself.

Just an idea... I am not going to start cutting just yet...

Isn't the lip there to add rigidity and strength to the hull? Kinda like a body line in a car or an I-beam. I mean think about angle iron, Its rigid in all directions because of its (L) shape. Take away either side of the (L) and you get an (I) and it flexs easily in two directions. I would think the hull would start to flex too.
    Could be wrong though. I am not an engineer, just stayed at a holiday in express.

Haha... not really sure.

It the back lip is a structural member of the hull... I don't think it is a good idea to F with it.

+1
    Its been done info would be in Riva archives,Fercho sent me pics years ago

DANG

=d>=d>
    Quote Originally Posted by megachuck View Post
    isn't the lip there to add rigidity and strength to the hull? Kinda like a body line in a car or an i-beam. I mean think about angle iron, its rigid in all directions because of its (l) shape. Take away either side of the (l) and you get an (i) and it flexs easily in two directions. I would think the hull would start to flex too.
    Could be wrong though. I am not an engineer, just stayed at a holiday in express.:d
    you are a funny rider.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by o uncola o View Post
    I don't know if this idea has been explored yet, but I could not really find anything relevant with the search tool.