Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

Rideplate Bolt???

I recently bought an 02 GP1200 with some mods already done to it. Last week I got my 05 Pump Conv. from IR. When I tried to take off the ride plate I found the right rear bolt to be stripped. Under further investigation I found that bolt isnt stipped its the piece on the inside of the hull that is broken loose. Can this be fixed?? How hard will it be?? I am fairly mechanical but I am new to working on skiis.
    I am ordering a new R&D plate Monday from Jim and need to get this fixed for the new plate and install of the pump conversion.

i have this same problem. i tried taking off my ride plate a week ago and realized i have a stripped bolt housing. the bolt is almost all the way out so it sticks out past the bottom of the ride plate. it wont tighten or loosen anymore. i am thinking about just cutting the head of the bolt off and take the rest of the bolts off and remove the plate. then maybe try to yank the bolt housing out. but what is the best way to replace it and what kind of adhesive or apoxy should be used to reset the threaded bolt housing in the hull?

+1
    guys do a search on this there has been a lot of helful tips on fixing! (use newer brackets 04 and up I think)

Welcome to the forum!