Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

1998 GP800 - Porpoising/Trim Tab Kit??? Which kit

I'm new to Green Hulk and own a 1998 Yamaha GP800. There are few hours on the unit and I enjoy it other than the porpoising. Riva used to make a trim tab set with a part number of Riva P/N# RY2717. I had this posted under the 2-stoke but Mike graciously re-directed me over to this forum (more experienced riders). I guess there are a few options with different years but I need an option for the 98 GP800. Does anyone have any info or a set of the above trim tabs that they would like to sell? I imagine this topic has been beat to death but is this trim tab kit the best option? I've shimmed my ride plate but when riding 2 people on it and it starts bouncing there is no stopping it?

the 98 uses almost nonexistant tab extension to the hull unlike the bigger 97 tabs .. you may not need em!!.. question ?~what type of plate is on it now and how much is the rear shimmed down?.. i ask as 1/2 inch seams to be the amount most use and the longer the plate the better.. the 98 uses the short speed plate as a stock unit thats not as long as the 97's....
    post a picture of it if you can...
    (please correct me if im wrong this is still the gp hull style and not the gp800r hull... if not gp... your set up is more like the r units and not as much old school )