Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

help FZS or 260x ? ,Newbie Advice

iam going to buy either a yamaha fzs or kawi 260x soon. i cant really decide which one. i have seen both at dealers but have not ridden either. the yammi is about a $1000. more than the kawi but i would like to know if anyone has ridden both skis and what they thought. this is my first sit down ski. i have been ridding stand ups for 10 years. (550 and 750sxi).
    it seems the yammi has more bells and whistles and the kawi is just simple with alot of HP. any info as far as quality,handling,MPG, would be greatly apreciated as iam torn between which one to buy. thanks

+1
    I would choose the Yamaha over the Kawi but that's just me. What type of conditions do you plan on riding in (open ocean, vs. lakes and rivers, etc...)?

i plan on riding in lakes mostly, maybe a trip to ocean once a year. i need a big ski to give the kids a ride now and then so a 2 seater is no good and my stand ups are useless. i plan on buyin this ski and keeping it for a while (5 years or more) so it needs to be reliable and low maintenence. iam looking at the big HP models as i think i will get bored with a big ski with slow acceleration. I also read the kawi doesnt turn good but handles rough water better. i dont think my lakes have rough water and since i cant do all the entertaining things a stand up can do, i think turning at high speed is a feature the ski needs to do well.
    i also dont want to run out of gas(no where to fill up at my lakes). i need the gas to last half a day. anyone have a range on these skis?

Warning

I can tell you one thing - do NOT buy a ski from JEM motorsports. You will be sorry, and you will pay too much.

Eric

+1
    Sounds ike you have thought it through. Its a fairly simple choice given your fueling requirements. The Ultra260 is the worst as far as fuel economy goes. It is the best rough water ski there is though.

+1

fzs vs 260x

Quote Originally Posted by thead View Post