2004 Sportster 4TEC Wont Start

I am looking at buying a used Sportster 4TEC but it is not working.

I looked at it today and apparently it worked fine... It was taken in for its yearly service and a fuel pump had to be changed out...

After it came out of service it worked for about 30 min then died and never started back up.

The current owner doesn't want to deal with it anymore and is selling it as is.

He did say that he replaced the battery to try and fix the issue but with no luck.

How can I check to see if the engine is seized?

When I attempt to start it I would diagnose it as a weak battery, loose connection or a bad ground. I have seen in the past connections pass a continuity test but once any substantial current is required on the circuit it will open.

I am a fairly competent mechanic but I have no experience with this engine!

I have searched the forums and I have seen a reference to two known issues with this craft but I can not find out the details. I can not find any posts regarding one that will not start.

One is an electrical issue and the other is a vent issue.

Any ideas?

The boat was a rental boat and it has around 220 hours.

Can someone explain to me the BUDS system? Dealer only correct? Is there any way to pull trouble codes?

Typical rates for dealer to clear the ecu codes?

Thanks Guys

EZ Dock of Long Island Shibby1485's Avatar
    Long Island, NY
    hey tony...

few quick things you can do "onsite" without getting to carried away with taking apart a boat that's not yet yours... it will give you a good indication of how serious things could be.