Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    +1

A little set back on my skis.

Well....where to start....hmmm...

Well I've been doing jet ski work now for about 11 years on my skis, friends skis and even customers skis so I've been around for quite some time I guess now. I got started on a topic with Oside regarding check valves in the carbs and if it truly matters on which side of the line is up. I've put together at least 100+ carbs in the last few years and never paid that much attention to the line facing up or down and never had a problem. I was always told that it was a line center mark where they are cut and it does not matter from back when we all were on the SBT boards...and so far I guess I've never noticed any difference and all my skis have ran AWESOME ...never any issues, seizures etc .....ever.

I got talking to a few others and some say it don't matter....some say it does so ?? The truth about it is the line is the top side of the roll and I guess my previous explanation was wrong from MOD's from the SBT boards about 10 years ago. I went ahead just because I don't even want to think about an issue with the new 1200, and pulled all 5 carbs from the skis to check and see what was what. Upon looking closer....I found the parts that I got from John at JSS must not have been Gen Mikuni parts because no line was even on any of them that were sent in my kits I ordered. I did notice the parts from Carl at Island had the lines when I ordered a few extra because one was bit crinkled to me so I took the safe route.

So...the ones installed don't have lines at all....so which is up ...which is down?? I decided to go ahead and pull them all out "check valves" and order new ones at the tone of almost $3/each x 5 x2 carbs to make sure "IT DOES NOT MATTER". I feel this was not needed....but I don't want to have anyone say it was the reason...although 10 years of doing this...I never paid much attention.