Thread: Carpet replace.

Carpet replace.

I have to replace my carpets on my bunks. They must have been burnt during the shrink wrap process, shit happens. I was just going to launch the ski, and replace. I am new to the game, this is my second year out.

I plan on getting the pre-cut carpet along with stainless staples. Should I carpet right over the existing for added padding? remove it? and any other advice or tips for doing this would be appreciated. thanks.

The ski's have taken a "backseat" to the Corvette DarthAWM's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sleaves View Post
    I have to replace my carpets on my bunks. They must have been burnt during the shrink wrap process, shit happens. I was just going to launch the ski, and replace. I am new to the game, this is my second year out.

I plan on getting the pre-cut carpet along with stainless staples. Should I carpet right over the existing for added padding? remove it? and any other advice or tips for doing this would be appreciated. thanks.
    Couldn't tell ya, my boards had rotted out so I just replaced the whole she-bang

I removed the old carpet and stapled the new on. Seems like 2 layers of carpet would trap a lot of moisture and possibly rot the boards.

Don't get precut carpeting -- it's a lot of $$. I went to lowes, bought a 8x6 outdoor, low nap carpet with a sturdy backing and cut it myself.

+1
    If they arent already...Round the edges of your bunks. It will help the wear on the carpet and your ski.

At a home center you can find good quality indoor/outdoor carpet that will work well. Buy 2 feet of a 6 foot wide roll and you will have enough for 2 bunks.

+1