Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Jerry, Jerry, Jerry jerryspringer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    248
    +1
    8

    help please!!! urgernt error code PO337

    hey guys , i have a rxp 2007 , 25 hours, well looked after but today after running for about 5 minutes, i suddenly lost power and stopped...ski stalled ,it currently still turns over, but wont start...

    i was left floating 2 klm offshore....waitning for the white pointers to come get me ..lol. i laugh now...but wasnt earlier

    any way please help. i need help with following code...

    P0337... i ve already looked up this code (thanks to greenhulkers) and it apparently means..

    No CPS signal, but CAPS signal detected

    ok the question is.... what is the problem... what is cps , what is caps and more importantly how do i fix, and i guess the bigger question im almost scared to ask is.... 1)is this an easy fix 2) is it an expensive fix???

    please help asap... My girlfriend and i have just taken a week off work to go skiing before the aussie winter sets in... i dont wanna be stranded watching her cruise around on her yamaha sho telling me .. i told you so..!!!


  2. #2
    HOSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Kenner, LA
    Posts
    4,759
    +1
    29
    crank position sensor,,,,you probably came unplugged. Or corrosion in the connector.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Jax,FL
    Posts
    2,677
    +1
    24
    CHAIN

  4. #4
    HOSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Kenner, LA
    Posts
    4,759
    +1
    29
    but if it will turn over, the chain couldnt be fried.

  5. #5
    EZ Dock of Long Island Shibby1485's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    9,464
    +1
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by HOSS View Post
    but if it will turn over, the chain couldnt be fried.
    to some people... the broken chain still sounds like it's cranking... starter/bendix will turn the flywheel and the whole bottom end... you just wont get cam rotation and resistance of the valvetrain... kinda just cranks a little extra freely

    CAPS cam position sensor
    CPS crank position sensor

    could be simply a bad connection or bad sensor

    take the valve cover off and see if the chain is still on the cam gear.... or if it still is on the gear, try and pick the chain up, see if it comes out in your hand

    had a handful of early early 4-tecs around 2002-2003 that had sporadic trigger wheel issues, misaligned tooth or something, which would throw this code and not let the motor start, or sometimes sporadically let it start after multiple attempts.... but haven't seen this in any recent model so i'm not inclined to think so

  6. #6
    HOSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Kenner, LA
    Posts
    4,759
    +1
    29
    but how would he have a CAPS signal if cam not spinning?

  7. #7
    Jerry, Jerry, Jerry jerryspringer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    248
    +1
    8
    mmm.... the good news is its not the chain...
    the better news that it now starts and runs....problem and error code free...

    but i guess im wondering....why... probably proves bad connection

    now for the dumb question (sorry , i gotta learn all this stuff some how lol )

    on some of the sites it states that the error code is cam position sensor, some say crank position sensor.. which one is it, is there both??

    also was wondering whre do i find the connectors (cam and crank sensor) to ensure all is plugged in correctly, and corrosion free

    also from closer inspection , i ve seen a wire that is running near the exhaust (top end of exhaust near where supercharger attaches to motor) that for some reason must be out of place (perhaps broken cable tie) and now has rested on the exhaust and burnt through the insulation exposing the copper core...could that wire be the culprit????
    perhaps once burnt through it earthed out causing error code


    jerry, jerry, jerry

    ps thanks so much for yor quick responses so far

  8. #8
    HOSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Kenner, LA
    Posts
    4,759
    +1
    29
    exhaust temp wire,,,possible that it sent a signal to ecu to shut down.

  9. #9
    that is probably your CPS wire. it runs from a connector at the back of the head down behind the supercharger. the CPS is located at the 8 o'clock position on the pto cover when viewing the engine from behind. there should be a plug holder on the TOPS valve that secures this wire. maybe it came off .

    Quote Originally Posted by jerryspringer View Post
    also from closer inspection , i ve seen a wire that is running near the exhaust (top end of exhaust near where supercharger attaches to motor) that for some reason must be out of place (perhaps broken cable tie) and now has rested on the exhaust and burnt through the insulation exposing the copper core...could that wire be the culprit????
    perhaps once burnt through it earthed out causing error code

  10. #10
    Jerry, Jerry, Jerry jerryspringer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    248
    +1
    8
    thanks to all for there responses, took out the ski today, seemed ok, i think it time to buy disk with workshop manual so i get to know all the looms, engine parts etc...

    hopefully all is ok now....

    thanks again hulkers !!!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Error code help please
    By 83Gator in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-23-2015, 09:35 PM
  2. Hello > code help please
    By emailderek1 in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-25-2008, 06:05 AM
  3. Hello > code help Please
    By emailderek1 in forum Kawasaki Open Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-04-2008, 10:42 PM
  4. Help, Check Engine Light, Error Code P0344
    By JC7727 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-14-2007, 06:27 PM
  5. What is ERROR code P1115 Please????
    By sr71bb in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-06-2007, 03:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •