Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Brian bconwayls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    402

    HELP, Duramax guru needed!

    2005 Crewcab duramax

    stock except exhaust and fingerstick

    starts, but no throttle responce

    display reads "Reduced engine power"

    Any advise????

    Don't even think about telling me to get a superdookie....


  2. #2
    The ski's have taken a "backseat" to the Corvette DarthAWM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Odessa, TX
    Posts
    5,364
    Quote Originally Posted by bconwayls1 View Post
    2005 Crewcab duramax

    stock except exhaust and fingerstick

    starts, but no throttle responce

    display reads "Reduced engine power"

    Any advise????

    Don't even think about telling me to get a superdookie....
    Get a superdookie!!!

    But seriously it looks like you have a trouble code issue

  3. #3
    Brian bconwayls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    402
    Yea, waiting for the GF to bring up a scanner.

    I'd still push it to the dealer first...............superdookie, yea

  4. #4
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,799
    +1
    449
    Get the codes and post them up, and I will run the tree chart and pull TSBs for you.

  5. #5
    Brian bconwayls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    402
    Quote Originally Posted by WFO View Post
    Get the codes and post them up, and I will run the tree chart and pull TSBs for you.
    Beautiful, I will asap

    Ya know, who goes to a PWC site to get help for an auto problem?? Awsome site, plain and simple.
    Last edited by bconwayls1; 03-20-2009 at 09:21 PM. Reason: to give credit where credit is due

  6. #6
    Brian bconwayls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    402
    Scanner said all is ok, no codes!! Shit

  7. #7
    Whats that whistling noise? jtskier11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Right side of Kansas
    Posts
    4,342
    +1
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by bconwayls1 View Post
    Scanner said all is ok, no codes!! Shit
    That scanner will not pull tranny codes. Its a seperate computer up by the radiator/fan shroud. Bet the tranny has an issue. If it gets too hot because its slipping the puter will put it in "abuse mode." My friends D-Max had the same issue last year. Had a code but my OTC couldnt pull it. Had to hit the stealership.

  8. #8
    RitzBlitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ritzville/Pullman, Wa
    Posts
    153
    Sounds like the throttle position sensor is bad. Occasionally when there is a problem with the throttle position sensor/accelerator pedal assembly "reduced engine power" will show up on the DIC, but no code will be thrown. The throttle pedal assembly will probably need to be replaced. If your scanner can read throttle position that's where I would start. Hope this helps and ya get back on the road!

    -Erik

    P.S. Even with the bad sensor you could probably still out tow a superdookie! haha just kiddin guys, gotta stir the pot a little.

  9. #9
    My son (mohawk man) jeffsntx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Belton TX
    Posts
    2,598
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by bconwayls1 View Post
    Scanner said all is ok, no codes!! Shit
    It has been a while since I have turned wrenches in the automotive world, but some of the diesels are not OBDII compliant. Depending on what type of scanner you used, there may be DTC's that your scanner didnt read.

  10. #10
    Brian bconwayls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    402
    Quote Originally Posted by jtskier11 View Post
    That scanner will not pull tranny codes. Its a seperate computer up by the radiator/fan shroud. Bet the tranny has an issue. If it gets too hot because its slipping the puter will put it in "abuse mode." My friends D-Max had the same issue last year. Had a code but my OTC couldnt pull it. Had to hit the stealership.
    It had been sitting for several hours, and was driving only 30 minutes w/no load before that. My buddy may have a tech II scanner, I heard that might work. Thanks for your help!

    Quote Originally Posted by RitzBlitz View Post
    Sounds like the throttle position sensor is bad. Occasionally when there is a problem with the throttle position sensor/accelerator pedal assembly "reduced engine power" will show up on the DIC, but no code will be thrown. The throttle pedal assembly will probably need to be replaced. If your scanner can read throttle position that's where I would start. Hope this helps and ya get back on the road!

    -Erik

    P.S. Even with the bad sensor you could probably still out tow a superdookie! haha just kiddin guys, gotta stir the pot a little.
    Heck they stir it, why not?!? This is the direction I am thinking, thanks for your help!

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffsntx View Post
    It has been a while since I have turned wrenches in the automotive world, but some of the diesels are not OBDII compliant. Depending on what type of scanner you used, there may be DTC's that your scanner didnt read.
    It was a Autoxray Code Scout, and I have heard there are probably hidden codes, that the stealership will have to pull. Thanks for your help!

    I will update when I can, thanks guys!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. HELP Dodge RAM Guru Needed!!
    By flyguytki in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-24-2009, 07:40 AM
  2. Help, 93' SL750 need to put oil in crank before startup???
    By dubstylguy in forum Polaris How To & FAQs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-28-2008, 10:16 AM
  3. Please help..Theme suggestion needed for GP1300R jetskidetailing
    By RUNWME in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-25-2007, 11:33 PM
  4. local service guru needed
    By MKaman in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-02-2007, 08:31 PM
  5. HELP N. Texas ! Need S.S. bolts to put motor in..
    By MAC_Attack in forum Southwest
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-12-2007, 01:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •