Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Gasket question

Gasket question

Well winter's over and before i drop in my 08 1300 i have some stuff i want to do to it (esp. since my warranty is basically up). First i want to take out the cat and throw in a D plate, and i figure while i have the stinger off it'd be a good time to throw on a high flow flame arrestor and the jetworks mod. Now i'm a honda mechanic and rarely ever do i not re-use gaskets, and i know the service manual says the stinger gaskets are not reusable, but on riva they're like 20-30 bucks a piece...WTF? This seems pretty rediculous because i get the vibe you guys basically pull the stinger off when you're bored, and i can't imagine spending 50-70 bucks worth in gaskets just to put it back on....

+1
    i didn't change out my stinger gasket. i used my head gasket about 3-4 times before i got a new one. gaskets i dont reuse are base gaskets and intake gaskets. but that's just me. i just make sure they're clean before i reinstall them.

+1
    You can reuse if they are in good shape. I like to shoot them with copper coat.

+1
    You can absolutely re-use them, as long as they are not damaged.

When I re-install them I coat them with a permatex product called copper spray-a-gasket, never had a problem.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by SpeedJunky View Post
    You can absolutely re-use them, as long as they are not damaged.

When I re-install them I coat them with a permatex product called copper spray-a-gasket, never had a problem.
    +1.. keep an eye on the black coating on the gasket,its a good indication of the condition..if its starts peeling dont reuse

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by beerdart View Post
    You can reuse if they are in good shape. I like to shoot them with copper coat.
    +1

oh good call on the copper spray, i've used that before and totally forgot. But considering its an 08 i'm sure the gaskets can't be that worn. Now for me to jack my own post....