Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Central North Carolina
    Posts
    3,846
    +1
    527

    Thumbs up PET Tach on fzr/fzs/sho

    Some up date info for you guys. I took my Pet tach and wraped the tack wire around the whole coil pack three rounds and then wraped it with electrical tape to keep it around the coil pack used program P :41 for the tach reading and it works perfectly rpm's and max rpm's. This is the only way to read the rpm's to get these prop pitched as close as you can to the boost limiter and the over rev limiter. The analogue tack is a joke on thes ski's when you are trying to deal with that small of rpm range. I hope this info will help you achieve your objective. Tommy Jordan


  2. #2
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    Do we know which wire going to the coils is the pulse to fire the coil? The Black with a different color stripe to each coil?
    THat's what is looks like on the schematic

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Central North Carolina
    Posts
    3,846
    +1
    527
    Quote Originally Posted by SHOBiz View Post
    Do we know which wire going to the coils is the pulse to fire the coil? The Black with a different color stripe to each coil?
    THat's what is looks like on the schematic
    With the pet tach you do not attach it to any wire that goes to the coil. It is a inductive signal that is picked up through the coil body!

  4. #4
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    Quote Originally Posted by 2fast4u View Post
    With the pet tach you do not attach it to any wire that goes to the coil. It is a inductive signal that is picked up through the coil body!

    Good, that is what I wanted to hear and that gives me some hope. I am using an Innovate logger and have an inductive clamp on the way. Really need RPM to do shyt!

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by SHOBiz View Post
    Good, that is what I wanted to hear and that gives me some hope. I am using an Innovate logger and have an inductive clamp on the way. Really need RPM to do shyt!
    let me know if this works....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Im looking for the screws that hold in the oil plate on the fzr/fzs/sho supercharger
    By bscpaint in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-27-2013, 02:21 PM
  2. FS Skat Long Blade Prop for use on FZR, FZS, SHO, FX HO, VXR or VXS
    By Jarrett in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-17-2013, 05:36 PM
  3. F/S Free Flow Exhaust Kit got FZR/FZS/SHO
    By 2fast4u in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-14-2009, 02:24 PM
  4. General Weight FZR / FZS / SHO............
    By night022 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 08:06 PM
  5. Pet Tach on a 4-tec
    By GP1500SC in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-17-2007, 06:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •