Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

SBT's reputation. ??

I have read many threads and opinions re: SBT and how many in here feel their stuff is of inferior quality. I would just like to know if anyone actually thinks they make a decent replacement 2 stroke swap motor? Not everyone is out for the most performance or that extra bit. Is it their parts that people have a problem with or their methods / services? There is always someone with an opinion saying this place is better or worse than the other but never says why. It seems SBT has been successful in what they do can they have built such an organization on a junk foundation? In all fairness I can tell you I have never ordered anything from them and am neutral as I am new to the game. Please feel free to chime in but explain yourself somewhat as I'd like to know.

+1
    I have seen a number of 717 and 787s from them that did fine. I am not sure about performance, though.

I did have a couple of 951s from them and when I took the last one apart (out of warrenty) I was not impressed with the mods on the head or type of pistons that they use.

I was going to get a Kawi 900 from them until I decided to drop the project.

here come the flames....

The ski's have taken a "backseat" to the Corvette DarthAWM's Avatar
    Ok here is what I have heard on SBT

They are an all right place to get a replacement motor if you are running a stock setup. They use the cheapest parts they can get away with, and you should get the two year no fault warranty. If you are running hi performance set ups the SBT internals(pistons, rods, and crank) just will not live very long.

Oh, their forums suck(that is personal opinion from personal experience)

Can't beat their warranty. I put an SBT motor in a buddy of mines ski, about a month later a carb butterfly screw backed out and went right into the motor. They don't even ask questions, they just send you a new motor.

For stock application, i don't think you can beat them overall.

+1