Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

rotary gear help

I think I posted this in the wrong section before:
    Hello everyone I'm a newbie here so if this is in the wrong place I'm sorry. I have a 1996 seadoo GTX 580cc (I believe thats the motor size it was seadoos bottom line machine in 1996) Ok now the horror story... The machine litterally has maybe 10hrs on it but the rotary gear melted to the steal gear??? I had a mechanic look at it on his off time well the guy ripped the whole thing apart and thats what he told me I have the gear but dont know how to put it back together. I feel akward bringing it to a dealership with it all torn apart. anyone here of this problem.. Anyone know how to fix it??? or just some guidance.

flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    +1
    Nope, you found the right place...Welcome to GH by the way.
    let me get this right, you took it to a mechanic that tore it all apart and couldnt figure out how to get it back together?....First Id get a new mechanic. Second, go get you ski from the dealership cause you can do this yourself and i can garuntee that if you let them do it you wont ride till September... its that easy if you can read directions, get a manual and are kinda handy with basic shop tools. I also think that your ski came with a 787. does the motor lean to the right(787cc) if your looking at it from the back or is it straight up and down(720cc)?

Warner Robins, GA Home of the 2007 All-Star Little League World Champions!
    Standing at the back a 787 leans to the left...

+1
    yea... opps!

Sorry bout the late reply the machine was bought new for my wife nd has been dead since we started dating due to this issue. I know the machine only does about 45mph and I believe its the 587cc motor. It was the cheapest one that year. Mind you my wife and I have been together for 7 years.