Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Newbie project 95 SL 650 std

Hello all, ive been a member of this site for a few weeks now and have been picking your collective brains on a semi daily basis while I have been doing a top end rebuild on a 650 I just bought about 3 weeks ago. Bored it half a millimeter over & installed a set of SBT pistons. Now being a newbie I dont know a lot about their goods, but the price was right. Anyway, I bought the ski from a Good friends brother and my friend has already gone thru the carbs, but Im not sure how thoroughly. I have inspected the fuel lines and cleaned & lubed the fuel valve. Tank looks clean, oil lines are full. the return restrictor is where it`s supposed to be. Anyway, it`s all back together and i fired it up tonite for the first time on premix gas. i dribbled a little gas in the carbs and cranked it over and it fired & ran for a couple seconds and I did it again & again until the filter bowl got filled up and it took right off and ran. sounded really good !! Ive read some stuff about high revving with no throttle & this engine built R`s to a point but then settled back a bit. I havent run it for more than 30 seconds or so at a clip because i havent put the hose on it yet. So Im not too concerned about the high idle because its on the trailer, and can only guess that it was turning 3500 Rpm or maybe a little more. also dont know where the idle is set so that may be why. No tach. anyway I want to check Low and high speed jet settings and would like some input as to where thay should be set initially. Anything else I need to check out before I run it in the water? Any input would be apreciated, Thanks, Haigskid

+1