Polaris MSX 110 summer sea fun?

Hi there all;

I'm a real newbie to PWC and would appreciate your unsalted opinions about the following.

A guy walks into our shop to service his Polaris MSX 110, I'm a Polaris ATV Dealer.
    I hadn't seen a PWC from up close in my life before, except for a few guys running a sea-doo near shore last summer.

Anyhow, turns out this guy wants to sell this MSX.

I got it up and running again and had 10 minutes test-run in a local lake.
    That's the full amount of my PWC experience.

Would this MSX 110 be a good buy for a sea summer fun newbie???
    Riding in about 2 to 4 foot rolling waves.

I've owned a 14' sportboat before, but this thing is way much more fun!!!

Fire away

SPEED KILLS, BUT YOU GET THERE QUICKER Keddano's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the hulk.The MSX is a great hull for the rough water for the money,One of our members last year started racing with the MSX hull offshore with great success.The 110 is a good releible engine with proper manitance.Pirate33 is his handle.So Jetski's are very rare there?

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk!

Click here for the 2004 Polaris PWC Service Manual, Parts Manuals, and other useful info.

You need to check the engine very carefully, to make sure it is operating as it should. These engines can be reliable, but there are several things that need to be maintained to avoid known problems.

One is that the waste gate shaft for the turbo-charger must be lubricated frequently, or it will become stiff. Also, the oil levels marked on the dip stick are not correct.

There is more information available in this forum. The Search function can provide lots of info.

The engine is made by Weber, which is based in Germany. You may be able to contact them to find a shop that works on this engine, if you need an expert for engine work or checks.