Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Ultra 150 taking on water from pump?

I bought my wife and sons a 99 ultra 150 ...i know very little of skis so im very new to this.the ski seems to be taking on water through the jet ..im sure through a seal or seals...when we loaded up the ski with water in hull it emptied thru the jet.( 1st time it filled we couldnt find it so this is how we did it) Im sure it needs to come apart and im not intimidated by this but i dont want to pull anything apart or out that isnt neccessary or that could get into more than i have to...any links or help? Thanks....Tony

+1
    Sounds like the mid bearing is toast. If that is the problem then you have to remove or at least lift the motor to pull the drive shaft and replace the bearing and holder. How fast is it comming in? There is also a sleeve that covers the drive shaft at the back of the ski, this can sometime slip off an water will rush into your ski. If you look it over I can help you with what ever you need.

Can you take some pics of your ski to show the paint job?

Welcome to the HULK

the water comes in regardless of whether it is running or not...and will fill the ski in a matter of hours...at first i thought it was coming from the front where there was damage above the bumper when i bought it...I repaired/built up the hole and painted it...anyway....we held the nose under water and had no water come in...well a drip or two from the wiring harness that runs thru the hood hinge...as far as pics what would i post those on....im not real computer savvy

+1
    Next time you post just go to attachments, browse for the pics, and then upload them.

Only do this if you inspect the bearing and cover with no findings. Pull the ski and put it on the trailer. Tilt it slightly back and fill the ski with an inch of water with the plugs in. This should let you find where the water is comming in from. Once you find where it is comming in I'll help any way I can.