Think I found why I always have a dead battery (96 XP)

I've only had my ski since last fall (1st ski) and ever since I got it I've had to swap batteries as often as I had to refuel. The ski ran like a bat out of hell, but after about 4 hours the ole battery light would come on and I knew I needed to head toward shore.

Someone here mentioned the rectifier and I finally got around to swapping it out. I'm no pro, but I think this was the prob lol. Just hoping the ski doesn't turn around and fry this one now...

New

Old

That was probably the issue. Shouldn't burn up another unless there are other issues. Goodluck

Update, just had a chance to run the ski on the hose finally.

I was just reading another thread where someone said I should be reading 13.5+ vdc when jumping on the throttle, but when I put the ski on the hose after changing the Rec it just read a stable 12.84 and would jump up to 12.85 every once in a while. Do I still have elec problems if I'm not noticing spikes when hitting the throttle hard?

how charged was the battery? a good check is check the battery voltage then start the ski and check it again make sure it is charging

Quote Originally Posted by ZMANN View Post
    how charged was the battery? a good check is check the battery voltage then start the ski and check it again make sure it is charging
    Brand new sealed $70 battery. Tested in at 12.83 before starting the ski (So basically the voltage didn't change after starting). This was the 1st use the battery had seen. I had it on a Battery Tender all week prior to dropping it in.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by JJLee138 View Post
    ...should be reading 13.5+ vdc when jumping on the throttle, but when I put the ski on the hose after changing the Rec it just read a stable 12.84 and would jump up to 12.85 every once in a while.

Do I still have electrical problems if I'm not noticing spikes when hitting the throttle hard?