Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    jtskir15f's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Posts
    958

    15F to 250X gauge conversion

    Alright, so I'm trying to spice up the old green machine by swapping that boring 15F gauge cluster for the 250X cluster. I'm not so worried about fittment now, more worried about a wireing difference.

    All the wires match up except for a couple. The 15F cluster has a 6 pin connector harness with only 5 wires in it (picture attached). Here's the problem, the 250X cluster has a 4 pin connector harness with 3 wires in it. Those 3 wires on the 250X harness and 3 of the 5 on the 15F harness match up in the same order.

    My question is, does anyone know what the 2 extra wires are for on the 15F harness? The first extra wire is yellow/blue and the other is gray.

    Thanks guys! Jordan
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCN0277.JPG 
Views:	99 
Size:	2.89 MB 
ID:	125342  


  2. #2
    Dont think the guages will cross match. 250 uses Can data

  3. #3
    jtskir15f's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Posts
    958
    DAMN!! 4 minutes, now thats a quick reply! Thanks a million skips! alright so does anyone want to buy great condition 250X gauge cluster?

  4. #4
    My name is Sean and I am addicted to STXs smokeysevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,485
    +1
    320
    I may be interested depending on if my stx 250x project gets off the ground..

    Sean

  5. #5
    jtskir15f's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Posts
    958
    I'm looking to drop a 250X motor in mine also. I got plans to do it w/o any hull mods too . But i wont need this gauge if i buy a complete donor 250 anyways.

  6. #6
    jtskir15f's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Posts
    958
    Both gauge sets have 3 connectors. the first is for the buzzer (aka cut off and thrown in the trash)

    the second is a 4 pin connector that hooks up and functions on both gauges, this one gives the gauge power and when hooked up to the 250 gauge it turns on and reads an "error" message on the digital readout.

    The 3rd connector pictured above is where i'm having trouble.

  7. #7
    jtskir15f's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Posts
    958
    Weird thing is, is that my service manual only shows the 15F gauge having one 2-pin connector and two 4-pin connectors. My gauge has one 2-pin, one 4-pin and one 6-pin

    So the two extra wires that the 15F harness has is the gray wire which is the speed sensor input, and the yellow/blue wire isn't even shown on the 15F service manual.

  8. #8
    jtskir15f's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Posts
    958
    I think i've got it figured out, only problem is that the gray wire is for the tach. So i may just run a tiny tach unless i can somehow splice the wire into the correct wire on the 250 harness?? but the yellow/blue wire is just for the SLO Mode and who needs that?

    And the wires just pop out of the connestors so i will swap the 6 pin connector from the 15F harness over to the 250 harness.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mississippi
    Posts
    510
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by jtskir15f View Post
    Weird thing is, is that my service manual only shows the 15F gauge having one 2-pin connector and two 4-pin connectors. My gauge has one 2-pin, one 4-pin and one 6-pin

    So the two extra wires that the 15F harness has is the gray wire which is the speed sensor input, and the yellow/blue wire isn't even shown on the 15F service manual.
    Think the yellow / blue could be a 5 volt reference ... say for the memory of the clock and stuff ??? Just a thought.

  10. #10
    jtskir15f's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Posts
    958
    I went to the dealer yesterday and looked at their paper copy of the service manual and not my PDF file. their copy showed the yellow/blue as a SLO Mode wire, I'm still detirmined to make this work, although i'd love to see the RPMS on the 250 gauge.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. FS Some stuff to start your conversion - ECU, MPEM, Harness', gauge
    By Gus13letter in forum Conversion Skis Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-23-2012, 07:13 PM
  2. Thumb to finger Throttle conversion done
    By bruinsrme in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-29-2010, 01:11 PM
  3. How to change gauge's display to metric system
    By BlackJack1 in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-12-2007, 10:21 AM
  4. Yet another item to repair - gauge cluster needed for 99 GP1200
    By Byteme in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-25-2007, 09:46 AM
  5. new location to boost gauge
    By naorav in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-24-2005, 08:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •