Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Greenhulk Grasshopah (DRC) HallPass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    5,587
    +1
    2

    need iphone help... jailbroken already.

    alright so my friend wants to use his iphone as a prepaid phone.

    he read that you can put a prepay SIM card in it.. and use it.

    question is can you do this when it has been jailbroken? How?

    It has Imario on it which is why I believe it has been jailbroken!

    any help would be appreciated.

    thanks,

    hallpass


  2. #2
    WE DONT DIAL 911 RDH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    LAKE TRAVIS
    Posts
    1,862
    it has to be jailbroken in order to use a different sim card...

    once broken you need to download the yellowsnow program,, in the cydia or installer app, i forgot which one....

    make sure you read about the firmware on the download site before uploading any firmware onto your phone,, some FW doesnt allow the use of yellowsnow i believe...... READ CAREFULLY.... good luck, it can be frustrating

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    40
    Jailbroken and being unlocked are two different things. To be able to use your iPhone with a different carrier it also needs to be unlocked

    All the info you need can be found here:
    http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/7427...he-stable-door

  4. #4
    Moderator RX951's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    League City, Texas
    Posts
    16,066
    +1
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by JayG View Post
    Jailbroken and being unlocked are two different things. To be able to use your iPhone with a different carrier it also needs to be unlocked

    All the info you need can be found here:
    http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/7427...he-stable-door

    +1

  5. #5
    WE DONT DIAL 911 RDH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    LAKE TRAVIS
    Posts
    1,862
    Quote Originally Posted by JayG View Post
    Jailbroken and being unlocked are two different things. To be able to use your iPhone with a different carrier it also needs to be unlocked

    All the info you need can be found here:
    http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/7427...he-stable-door
    woops, meant to say unlocked...

  6. #6
    Greenhulk Grasshopah (DRC) HallPass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    5,587
    +1
    2
    well i got it all done..

    i forgot i did this. I posted, then did it.

    I used Pwnage..

    I have a good story. So I unlocked his phone (jailbroke it)

    then we went to the AT&T store, and we were like yeah we need a number and a sim card.. unlimited text and like $15 for phone time..

    she was like okay.. and started doing all the info. She goes well with an iphone you will need a plan..blah blah blah blah it will be like $80+ a month. We were like right... just try it will you? I think it will work... lets just see

    she was like well okay It's not going to but.. Wow it works.

    Lady: Is this jailbroken?

    Friend: no?

    Lady :
    You buy this from somebody, where'd you get it from?

    Friend:
    My older sister, i doubt she did it.. is it hard to jailbreak or something?

    Lady:
    Yes, very hard.. takes a LOT of work and time

    Us: Trying not to laugh....

    Well thanks!! See ya later!!

    it's sweet! We have cydia, and I put winterboard on his phone..

  7. #7
    WE DONT DIAL 911 RDH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    LAKE TRAVIS
    Posts
    1,862
    does he get unlimited data? so surfing the web and youtube arent gonna cost him..

  8. #8
    Greenhulk Grasshopah (DRC) HallPass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    5,587
    +1
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by RDH View Post
    does he get unlimited data? so surfing the web and youtube arent gonna cost him..
    only wifi..

    unless he pays like $15 dollars more or something per month.

  9. #9
    You can only unlock the 2.28 baseband. So if the phone has been upgraded to OS 2.2.1, you need to first downgrade your 2.30 baseband to 2.28 before you can apply redsn0w. But otherwise, its a easy job.

    http://www.modmyi.com/forums/iphone-...30-2-28-a.html

    Thats how you downgrade the baseband should you need to do so.

    http://redsn0w.com/

    download the torrent for redsn0w and follow the directions for that... Then pop any SIM in and youre good to go.

    If its not running 2.2.0 or a modified 2.2.1 OS, I would first upgrade using the normal methods.

  10. #10
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    being one that creates demo content installs for the new iphones my perspective is ya'll are funny

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Need some help guys, Lost 500rpm
    By CRS in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-15-2006, 05:24 PM
  2. still need urgent help!!!!!!!!!!!!! somebody has idea
    By amirmiz in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-04-2006, 07:24 PM
  3. SeaDoo 3D (need some help)
    By MARKUS in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-09-2006, 05:18 PM
  4. OK Pine box derby experts - I need your help
    By Jeff C in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-16-2005, 04:03 PM
  5. NEED OIL HELP QUICK
    By seadawg in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-30-2005, 04:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •