Need Help Custom 320+HP Project

Hi Guys,
    I am new to the forum but I see that there are many knowlegeable people on here and I could use some help. I currently have a 1999 Seadoo Speedster SK, I blew up one of the motors last fall so my buddy and myself came up with the idea of putting a pair of CBR 1000RR Street Bike motors in it, they are 160+ HP each. I am a mechanical engineer and I did some calculations and the stock driveshafts arent big enough to handle the torque.

I am looking at how I can either get a 140mm impeller with a bigger splined bore and machine new driveshafts myself, or would other jet pump housings bolt up with a bigger impeller and bigger splined bore? I calculated the shaft size based on max torque and I will need around a 1 inch shaft or larger. All the help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you all for your time!

+1
    Considering there are watercraft running more torque and HP with smaller shafts, I'm not sure I'd agree with your calculations... but hey, engineers LOVE to be right.

You could swap in some Seadoo RXP pumps and go with those shafts. They run 215hp straight from SD. I sure hope those thousands of watercraft running these tiny shafts don't all twist up and explode!

Welcome to GH.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by ride_hyperlite View Post
    ...I did some calculations and the stock driveshafts aren't big enough to handle the torque.

...I calculated the shaft size based on max torque and I will need around a 1 inch shaft or larger...
    How did you come up with that result?

There are lots of watercraft running 160HP or more. A watercraft impeller is different from a road vehicle with a gearbox, and the impeller doesn't grip the water the same way a road tire grips the road and limits engine RPM rise.