Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    jgustman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cottonwood, Mn
    Posts
    133
    +1
    5

    PET 2100 wire lead seems too short...

    I just got my PET 2100DX and the pickup wire lead seems really short, not long enough to run from the electric box up to where I want to mount it by the handle bars or dash. Anyone else have this problem? The lead seems to only be around 3-4 feet long, brand new from Island Racing...


  2. #2
    Connecticut CrazyA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    CT.
    Posts
    8,134
    +1
    1,050
    Yes, I had the same problem. It's original intention was to go from the plug wires (near the plugs) to the tach, not all the way back to the box. I first installed it this way. I just clipped it around the plug wire right near the plug. Readings seemed to be all over the place. I went to Radio Shack and got some stranded wire, ran it all the way back to the box, and wrapped it 3 wraps around all three wires and it seems to give perfectly stable readings. (at least on the trailer, still need to water test)

  3. #3
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,801
    +1
    450
    Mine was too short too. Did the same as Art.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania
    Posts
    69
    Mine is attached, by included clamp, right at #1 spark plug wire just before the boot. That was about the only place, with the wire provided, that I could connect and reach up to the dash. Mounted on the dash, brought the wire up thru the steering shaft and then thru the water drain hole right by the dash. It works great, have not had any problems since got the tach coded correctly.

  5. #5
    Moderator RX951's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    League City, Texas
    Posts
    16,066
    +1
    23
    yup, ditto, just replace that with a longer piece of wire.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    panama city beach 'fl
    Posts
    1,846
    +1
    9
    on mine took clip off tyrap wire parallel with #1 sparkplug wire

    later cd

  7. #7
    jgustman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cottonwood, Mn
    Posts
    133
    +1
    5
    Thanks for all the input, I tried just clipping it to the front cyl. by the plug, but rpm readings aren't right. I seems to only work clipped to #2 at the box. I'll get a longer wire and re solder the clip to the new wire...What guage wire is everyone using???

  8. #8
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,801
    +1
    450
    I think 18 gauge

  9. #9
    Connecticut CrazyA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    CT.
    Posts
    8,134
    +1
    1,050
    Yeah, 18. I wanted to find some 16 with a little less insulation... but no luck!!! 18 was the biggest that would fit.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Warranty on Pet 2100
    By davesgpr in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-31-2007, 01:22 PM
  2. ideas where to mount my pet 2100
    By Hydrotherapy in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-10-2007, 04:28 AM
  3. Pet 2100 dx problem
    By TheDome in forum Sea Doo How To & FAQs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-27-2006, 03:01 PM
  4. Pet 2100 tach
    By mtrager in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-05-2006, 06:01 PM
  5. hull reinforcement kit seems too small
    By Purple Haze in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-18-2006, 11:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •