Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Advice on painting a Trailer? (Pics)

Hey guys, I spent last fall and this winter restoring my ski. Now I've got this ugly Shorelander trailer starting to rust that's begging me to be painted Black. I have zero painting experience outside painting the walls around the house lol. So basically I"m looking for any advice from your experiences here.

My plan was to take a wire cup and hit all the rust spots (Can I leave the non rusty painted surfaces alone?). Then brush on some sort of Rustolium Primer over the whole trailer. Finally brushing on a couple coats of Glossy Black Rustolium. Am I missing anything here? Thanks a TON for any help or advice on products, techniques, etc.

Quote Originally Posted by JJLee138 View Post

My plan was to take a wire cup and hit all the rust spots (Can I leave the non rusty painted surfaces alone?). Then brush on some sort of Rustolium Primer over the whole trailer. Finally brushing on a couple coats of Glossy Black Rustolium. Am I missing anything here? Thanks a TON for any help or advice on products, techniques, etc.
    Doing the same thing this summer. Bump for more replies.

I already started on mine and discovered that a grinder works wonders on those rust spots...

+1
    You could just paint over the trailer and rust with some POR-15

http://www.por15.com/

Then over that apply their Blackcote for a glossy finish

I am doing my galvanized trailer over and just applying the Blackcote over the galvanized as per instructions form POR-15

If the weather ever cooperates around here I will update my trailer re-do thread with some progress pics. F'n rain about every weekend...that or 98 degrees!

Quote Originally Posted by NJJer View Post
    You could just paint over the trailer and rust with some POR-15

http://www.por15.com/

Then over that apply their Blackcote for a glossy finish

I am doing my galvanized trailer over and just applying the Blackcote over the galvanized as per instructions form POR-15