Thread: Popoff howto

Peoria, AZ

Popoff howto

Disclaimer: I've never done this before so I need help.

I rebuilt my carbs and now I'm trying to test the popoff so I can put them all back together. When I pump the tester, I am able to build pressure but am not getting a clean needle pop off. The needle starts to leak once I get near the range that I it probably should be popping off in. I am using lube liberally on the needle prior to doing tests. Twice I did get clean pop offs with the needle but the rest of the time I just get needle leakage.

Am I just overthinking this or should I be getting a clean needle popoff?

Thanks a bunch for the help, I really appreciate it.

League City, Texas

How to Check Popoff Pop Off Carb Pop Off Popoff

byrtch, You can fill the fuel inlet hole IN THE MAIN BODY OF THE CARB with WD-40 then insert the end of the pop off gage into or over the hole and pump the gage slowly till the needle pops off it should pop.

A good needle and seat will "Pop-Off" at the desired setting, drop 1/2 to 1 pound and hold. A very slow leakage from this hold pressure won't affect the performance of your carburetor but a complete drop from the desired setting to ZERO of the gauge will cause very poor carburetor performance and must be cured.

Never check your "Pop-Off" Pressure with the carburetor dry.

You can also fill the line of your pressure tester with WD 40 then when you pump this in to test the "Pop-Off" Pressure, the needle will be wet and closer to the condition it will be when running."

Pop-off pressure testing:
    1) Before testing we must make sure that the carburetor is "wet" inside. If it was overhauled, before testing, it needs to have fuel or WD-40 inside. Otherwise the pressure value will not be accurate.
    2) Connect fuel hose to the fuel inlet of the carburetor.
    3) Start pumping until desired Psi of pressure ise achieved.